Clearpool Lending

Orange · 56/100

Executive summary

Clearpool Lending is an institutional DeFi credit protocol offering unsecured and undercollateralized lending to whitelisted borrowers across Ethereum, Flare, Mantle, and OP Mainnet, scoring 73/100 (green band) with $16.5M TVL.

  • Security: Multiple audits by Cantina, Decurity, MixBytes, CertiK, Hacken, and Pessimistic since 2021; Decurity found 7 high-severity issues across USDX and Open Term Lending (fix status not fully verifiable); Hacken's 2024 review left one low-severity issue unresolved but awarded 10/10; deployed-code match and current residual risk are not verifiable as of September 2026.
  • Incidents: November 2022 FTX-contagion liquidity stress pushed Auros, Amber Group, and other pools to 99% utilization warning thresholds with ~$14.8M exposure; Clearpool claims borrowers repaid and lenders suffered no losses, but this is unverified; no exploit or attacker identified.
  • Governance & custody: Team-led governance; only whitelisted CPOOL-staked Oracles vote on interest-rate parameters every two weeks with 15% voting-power cap; no evidence of token-holder control over upgrades, treasury, or emergency actions; protocol is non-custodial (lenders hold cpTokens, Prime borrowers receive funds directly); admin keys, multisig structure, and upgrade authority are not verifiable as of September 2026.
  • Top risks: Dominant risk is unsecured single-borrower credit exposure—recovery after default depends on auction execution, insurance fund, and legal recourse, not collateral liquidation; borrower concentration, external stablecoin dependency (USDC, USDX), and liquidity stress at high utilization (95%+ triggers withdrawal pauses) amplify losses; chain-specific exposure and insurance sufficiency are not verifiable.
  • Strengths: Uncollateralized institutional lending enables capital efficiency; dynamic utilization-based pricing aligns supply and demand; transparent on-chain credit metrics and pool-level diversification improve lender due diligence; multi-chain deployment (Ethereum, Flare, Mantle, OP) broadens access; public, experienced team (Robert Alcorn, Alessio Quaglini, Jakob Kronbichler) backed by Sequoia India, Arrington, HashKey.
  • Unverified: Deployed-code match for all audits, exact borrower credit quality, insurance-fund adequacy, admin/multisig key holders, upgrade timelock, chain-by-chain TVL breakdown, USDX reserve attestation, and 30-day realized yield are not verifiable as of September 2026; CPOOL governance claims and token utility are unverified marketing statements without on-chain confirmation.
  • Recommended exposure: Limit to <5% of portfolio; treat as directional credit, not market-neutral yield; diversify across multiple pools and chains; verify current borrower credit ratings (Credora or equivalent), insurance-fund balance, and pool utilization before entry; avoid concentrated single-borrower pools; monitor utilization thresholds (exit if approaching 95%) and any new default/auction events; suitable only for allocators comfortable with unsecured institutional credit risk and potential principal loss.
  • Open questions: Verify deployed contract addresses and admin keys on each chain; confirm current insurance-fund size and coverage ratio; obtain independent Credora credit assessments for active borrowers; check real-time pool utilization and borrower repayment history; validate USDX reserve attestation and custody with Hex Trust; clarify governance upgrade authority and multisig signers; assess legal recourse and enforceability for cross-border borrower defaults; confirm whether any pools have BTC or volatile-asset exposure.

Score

Component Weight Raw Points Reason
Security 20% 100 20.0 12 audit(s); continuous security program bonus; active bug bounty bonus
Audits 20% 30 6.0 last full audit 2025-02-25 is older than a year; auditor not in top-20 -20
Incidents 20% 100 20.0 no open incidents
Governance 20% 50 10.0 no DAO governance
TVL 20% 0 0.0 TVL $234,105 = 0% of reference ($17,538,184,136)
Data confidence 86 7/7 critical categories; 15/49 verified facts; 49/49 fresh (180d)

Identification

protocol identification

two sources

Clearpool Lending is a permissionless institutional lending protocol where LPs provide liquidity to borrower pools and earn variable interest; it is part of the Clearpool ecosystem but distinct from the KYC-gated Clearpool Prime. Identification

  • Name: Clearpool Lending (often just “Clearpool”) – institutional DeFi credit protocol.
  • Website: clearpool.finance (landing, app, docs referenced across analytics and media).
  • Docs: Hosted under Clearpool’s documentation site (protocol architecture, pools, risk framework).
  • Category: DeFi credit / undercollateralized & structured lending to institutions; LPs take pool-specific credit risk.
  • Launch date: Ethereum mainnet launch of Clearpool’s permissionless lending pools in late 2021/early 2022 (exact block/date Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04).
  • Chains:
  • Ethereum – primary deployment with highest historic TVL.
  • Mantle, Optimism (OP Mainnet), Flare – supported L2/alt‑L1 deployments, referenced by analytics and protocol communications.
  • Native token: CPOOL, Clearpool’s ERC‑20 utility/governance token. Main contract addresses (cross‑checked via aggregators & explorers) Because Dune MCP is unavailable, on‑chain verification via Dune is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. Below are core contracts confirmed by at least two independent off‑chain sources; exact addresses should be revalidated in your internal tooling before position sizing:
  • Ethereum: Clearpool lending pool and factory contracts are identified by DeFiLlama and Etherscan labels referring to “Clearpool” pools and CPOOL token; contract-level mapping to each borrower pool remains Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04.
  • Mantle / OP Mainnet / Flare: Multiple pools and staking contracts attributed to Clearpool in chain explorers and analytics, but a complete canonical list of “main contracts” across networks is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04.
  • Explorer verification: Key routers/pools and the CPOOL token contract on Ethereum are verified on Etherscan (source code + contract name), while verification coverage on Mantle, Flare, and Optimism is partial according to local explorers. Fork lineage & code provenance
  • Clearpool is not presented as a direct fork of Aave/Compound; public materials describe a purpose‑built architecture for unsecured institutional borrowing and single‑borrower pools.
  • Analytics and media sources treat Clearpool as an original protocol in the institutional credit niche rather than a parameter tweak of an upstream fork.
  • No independent source documents a specific “upstream protocol” (e.g., Aave v2 fork) or a history of malicious modifications in Clearpool‑branded forks. Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04.
  • Clearpool reports multiple external audits of its smart contracts by established firms, but the detailed audit scope and which components (L1/L2, factories vs pools) were covered are unverified marketing claims pending direct auditor‑site confirmation.
Evidence (4)

maturity

unverified

Clearpool Lending appears to be a live product portal, not just a marketing landing page: the main lending page shows pool listings with borrower/network/APR/asset/pool size/KYC columns, and the app prompts wallet connection for live pool interaction and details. The docs describe active user flows for borrowing, repaying, creating pools, and lender deposits/withdrawals, which is consistent with a functional app rather than a static site. The UX also looks mature enough to support institutional use cases: the docs expose product segmentation between Dynamic Pools and Prime Pools, with Prime gated by application and KYB, and the site/docs include official links for the app and support channels.

The lending page snippet specifically shows a real pool on Flare with a displayed pool size, which is a stronger sign of live operations than template-only content. There are, however, a few caution flags. Some statements on the protocol’s own social/docs side about TVL and loans originated are unverified marketing claims unless independently cross-checked, and one older medium post references a future UI refresh, which suggests the interface has evolved over time rather than being entirely stable from the start.

Broken-link checks were not exhaustively verifiable here, so that aspect is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. Open API: Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. The public documentation surfaced here shows app, docs, and support links, but no clearly documented public API reference or endpoint specification.

Evidence (7)

Security

bug bounty

unverified

Clearpool states it operates an ongoing bug bounty program. Reports must be submitted via GitHub, payouts are in CPOOL or USDC, the minimum payout is 500 USDC equivalent, and the core team determines rewards by vulnerability severity. The published scope includes the Clearpool marketing and application websites; reports without reproducible impact or a PoC are not eligible.

Public documentation available here does not show a separate launch date or a disclosed public results summary, so those items are not verifiable as of 2026-09-04.

Active
Yes
Platform
GitHub (Clearpool bug reports category)
Evidence (3)

counterparty risks

two sources

Assessment as of September 6, 2026. Dune/on-chain verification is unavailable in this run: Not verifiable as of 2026-09-06 for chain-by-chain balances, borrower concentration, bridge balances, oracle contracts, custodian wallets, CEX/MM flows, stablecoin composition, and exact exposure percentages. Primary counterparty risk: Clearpool’s core products provide largely unsecured, single-borrower credit to institutional trading firms, market makers, fintechs, and payment companies. Prime loans are transferred directly to borrower wallets; Clearpool states it does not take custody. A borrower default, insolvency, exchange failure, or market-maker liquidity shock can therefore transmit directly to the relevant pool’s lenders, with limited protocol-level mutualization.

Dynamic pools can enter default after utilization remains above 95% for five consecutive days, indicating liquidity and rollover risk even without an oracle event. Stablecoin/custodian dependency: Flare exposure includes USDX Treasury Pool, whose reserves, issuer, redemption process, and custody depend on HT Digital Assets/Hex Trust and short-term Treasury-bill or cash assets. This is an external issuer/custodian/SPV dependency, not a purely on-chain collateral position. A third-party monitor records USDX briefly trading as low as $0.8717 during March 4–5, 2026, with recovery to $1; this is a historical depeg, not evidence of an active failure on September 6. Bridges and external protocols: CPOOL cross-chain transfer uses LayerZero OFT infrastructure, creating messaging/bridge and chain-finality dependency.

RLOC/other yield strategies may add Aave/Compound or trading-strategy exposure, but the allocation is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-06. No verified LST or restaking dependency was identified. > Contradiction: Clearpool’s current site reports $26.45m TVL and $10.31m active loans, while DeFiLlama reports $17.89m TVL and $10.3m active loans. The figures use different scopes/products; the discrepancy is unresolved, and the on-chain number is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-06. Scenario severity: borrower default, USDX depeg/redemption halt, Hex Trust insolvency/custody impairment, LayerZero messaging failure, or strategy/CEX/MM insolvency could cause delayed withdrawals or principal loss.

Exact maximum exposure is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-06.

Dependency failure active
No
Evidence (7)

crypto custody

unverified

Clearpool Lending appears to be non-custodial at the protocol level: published materials say lenders supply stablecoins into pools/vaults and receive cpTokens representing their claim, while Prime specifically says funds are transferred directly to borrower wallets and that Clearpool never holds custody of lender funds. A separate Hex Trust partnership provides licensed custody/compliance services for participants, but that is an external custody layer rather than Clearpool itself taking custody. For the listed chains (Ethereum, Flare, Mantle, OP Mainnet), I did not find chain-specific evidence that user assets are segregated by chain or that withdrawals are paused.

Withdrawal behavior is described as available anytime subject to pool liquidity. Not verifiable as of 2026-09-06 for segregated_assets and withdrawal_paused.

Evidence (3)

incident

two sources

November 2022 FTX-contagion liquidity stress affected Clearpool permissionless pools for Auros, Amber Group, LedgerPrime, Folkvang and Nibbio. On November 9, 2022, these pools reached the 99% warning threshold; reported outstanding debt was approximately $14.8M, which is exposure/debt—not realized loss. Auros separately had about $2.4M outstanding across two Clearpool pools.

The affected parties were liquidity providers. Clearpool’s mechanism halted withdrawals at the warning threshold and gave borrowers a grace period to restore utilization. Clearpool later stated that borrowers repaid their Clearpool loans, allowing lenders to withdraw without losses; this repayment/no-loss outcome is a protocol-origin claim and was not independently verified.

Current status: reported resolved; exact on-chain repayment and any residual exposure: Not verifiable as of 2026-09-06. No attacker or exploit was identified, and no separate reimbursement program was reported.

Date
2022-11-09
Cause
Liquidity issue
Loss
$14.8M
Status
resolved
Reimbursed
No
Event id
clearpool-2022-11-ftx-contagion-liquidity-stress
Evidence (4)

incident

one source

November 2022 FTX-contagion liquidity stress affected Clearpool permissionless pools, including Auros, Amber Group, LedgerPrime, Folkvang and Nibbio. Several pools reached the 99% utilization warning threshold; Auros also missed a repayment and was reported owing approximately $2.4M across two Clearpool pools. Affected parties were liquidity providers in those borrower pools.

Clearpool’s response was to halt relevant withdrawals under its utilization safeguards, rely on the grace-period mechanism, and press borrowers to repay. Clearpool later stated that borrowers repaid and lenders suffered no losses; this is a protocol-origin claim and was not independently verified because Dune/on-chain checks were unavailable. Exact realised loss, recovery amount and any formal reimbursement payment are therefore Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.

No evidence found of an exploit, attacker proceeds, or a separate reimbursement program. The applicable fix/mitigation was the existing high-utilization circuit breaker, five-day grace period, insurance fund and default-auction process; no post-incident code fix specifically attributable to this event was verified. Current status: resolved on the protocol’s reported account, but independently unverified.

Date
2022-11
Cause
Other
Status
resolved
Reimbursed
No
Evidence (3)

key management

two sources

Clearpool Lending’s key management is not verifiable from the available sources. The accessible materials describe governance, KYC/AML onboarding, whitelisting, staking, and audited smart-contract pool administration, but they do not disclose how administrative, upgrade, treasury, or multisig signing keys are organized for the lending protocol on Ethereum, Flare, Mantle, or OP Mainnet. What can be said with confidence is that access and control around participation are organized through permissioning and governance: borrowers can be whitelisted via CPOOL governance, Permissioned Pools require KYC/AML for both sides, and audit reports describe contracts that register, whitelist, blacklist, and manage protocol parameters and treasury addresses.

For the specific question of who holds protocol admin keys, whether upgrades use multisig, what signers are used, and whether key custody differs by chain, this is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 from the provided sources.

Evidence (7)

smart-contract

two sources

Assessment as of September 6, 2026 — Smart Contract & Admin Risk Verified architecture. Clearpool’s published deployment registry lists PoolFactory at Ethereum 0xdE204e5a060bA5d3B63C7A4099712959114c2D48 and OP Mainnet 0x99C10A7aBd93b2db6d1a2271e69F268a2c356b80; it also lists Flare X-Pool 0x6b9e9d89E0E9Fd93eb95d8C7715BE2A8de64aF07 and T-Pool 0xfe2907dfa8db6e320cdbf45f0aa888f6135ec4f8. Mantle lending deployment addresses are not fully enumerated in the accessible registry. Audits describe upgradeable contracts using the beacon pattern.

Hacken states that Prime’s PoolFactory owner can mark pools defaulted, change the Prime address, and change the pool beacon; Prime’s owner can modify membership, risk scores, spreads, fees, treasury, and penalty rates. Pool-level borrower roles can whitelist/blacklist lenders and trigger repayment. Architecture map: Owner/admin → PoolFactory → Beacon → Pool implementations → individual lending pools → borrower/treasury/oracle/fee configuration User → Pool proxy → deposit/withdraw/repay; exit remains subject to pool liquidity, pause state, defaults, and implementation behavior. Admin and emergency controls. Upgrade, pause, withdrawal restrictions, fee/oracle/strategy permissions, role renunciation, proxy-admin type, and timelock delay require deployment-specific state/event inspection. Dune MCP is unavailable in this run; therefore: Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026.

No admin address, multisig, EOA, timelock, or renunciation claim is asserted. Worst case. A compromised beacon/owner key could replace shared logic, alter accounting or withdrawal rules, redirect treasury/fees, blacklist users, mark pools defaulted, or freeze exits. A compromised borrower role could materially impair a pool. Users may not be able to exit without admin intervention when liquidity is insufficient, withdrawals are paused, or upgraded logic blocks redemption. Contradiction / evidence gap: the prior finding says admin control exists across all chains; current web evidence supports the upgradeable/owner-controlled design, but does not verify current deployed roles or timelocks on Ethereum, Flare, Mantle, and OP Mainnet.

On-chain confirmation is therefore outstanding. Audits exist, including Hacken, Decurity, MixBytes, and Pessimistic; however, audit coverage is code/product-specific, not proof that every listed deployment is audited. Pessimistic reported a historical critical issue and incomplete documentation; current unresolved status is not independently verifiable.

Upgradeable
Yes
Evidence (4)

audit

one source

Cantina — Credit Vaults report; June 2024; vault implementation. Deployed-code match: Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.

Auditor
Cantina
Report date
2024-06
Scope
Credit Vaults
Findings
Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.
Fix status
Fix verified according to Clearpool team requirements.
Evidence (1)

audit

two sources

Smart contract security audits for Clearpool USDX Lending and Open Term Lending. These are Solidity lending pools; Decurity lists two separate engagements with aggregated statistics. Likely cover Ethereum and possibly other chains where USDX and open-term pools are deployed, but chain breakdown is not explicit in retrieved snippet (Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04).

Auditor
Decurity
Report date
2024-02-01
Scope
Clearpool USDX Lending and Open Term Lending smart contracts (Solidity). Exact chain and bytecode-match verification for currently deployed contracts Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04.[5][9]
Findings
USDX Lending (Apr 2024): **2 high, 2 medium, 1 low, 4 informational** findings.[9] Open Term Lending (Feb 2024): **5 high, 2 low, 6 informational** findings.[9] Total across all engagements: **7 high, 2 medium, 3 low, 10 informational**.[9]
Fix status
Decurity summary lists findings but the snippet does not state fix status or residual issues; full PDFs likely contain remediation details (Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04).[5][9]
Evidence (2)

audit

one source

Decurity — Credit Vaults audit; February 2024; Credit Vault lending contracts. Deployed-code match: Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.

Auditor
Decurity
Report date
2024-02
Scope
Credit Vaults
Findings
Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.
Fix status
Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.
Evidence (1)

audit

unverified

Clearpool USDX Lending · Solidity

Auditor
Decurity
Report date
2024-04
Scope
USDX Lending audit engagement; month-precision scope from Decurity audit index
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

Decurity — Clearpool USDX audit; May 2024; USDX T-Pool lending contracts. Deployed-code match: Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.

Auditor
Decurity
Report date
2024-05
Scope
USDX T-Pool; Solidity lending contracts
Findings
Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.
Fix status
Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

MixBytes — Clearpool Security Audit

Auditor
MixBytes
Report date
2021-11-01
Scope
Base Clearpool lending contracts; chain coverage not specified
Findings
0 critical, 6 high, 3 medium, 12 low.
Fix status
All findings acknowledged or fixed per MixBytes; current residual risk not verifiable.
Report url
https://github.com/mixbytes/audits_public/blob/master/Clearpool/Clearpool%20Security%20Audit%20Report.pdf
Report id
doc:1ebc67321e783356
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

CertiK — Clearpool Finance Addendum

Auditor
CertiK
Report date
2022-03-18
Scope
Permissionless and staking contracts; 20 audited files
Findings
0 critical, 0 major, 0 medium, 1 minor, 5 informational.
Fix status
4 resolved; 2 acknowledged; no partial fixes reported.
Report url
https://4108300013-files.gitbook.io/~/files/v0/b/gitbook-x-prod.appspot.com/o/spaces%2FhkiSI8bK3ThlypJ3jdEC%2Fuploads%2F8T2MWohOLrXeSIPo2Ybi%2FREP-Clearpool-Finance-Addendum__final-20220318T140815Z-1647702202963.pdf?alt=media
Report id
doc:247d1b5dcf7c8201
Unresolved critical
0
Unresolved high
0
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

MixBytes — Dynamic/Auction

Auditor
MixBytes
Report date
2023-03-31
Scope
PoolFactory, Auction and Decimal; Ethereum and Polygon
Findings
0 critical, 6 high, 3 medium, 12 low.
Fix status
All high fixed; 2 medium fixed and 1 acknowledged; 9 low fixed and 3 acknowledged.
Report url
https://4108300013-files.gitbook.io/~/files/v0/b/gitbook-x-prod.appspot.com/o/spaces%2FhkiSI8bK3ThlypJ3jdEC%2Fuploads%2FCiIvKIXmnZ0vGDFDT5Pc%2F2023-03-31%20Clearpool%20Security%20Audit%20Report%20by%20MixBytes.pdf?alt=media
Report id
doc:3f05e41e95b1b8db
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

Hacken — Staking

Auditor
Hacken
Report date
2023-08-24
Scope
Clearpool staking contracts
Findings
Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026.
Fix status
Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026.
Report url
https://hacken.io/audits/clearpool-finance/sca-clearpool-staking-aug2023/
Report id
doc:57f8f0c01b4875bf
Evidence (1)

audit

unverified

Hacken — Prime Protocol

Auditor
Hacken
Report date
2023-04-27
Scope
Prime contracts
Findings
Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026.
Fix status
Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026.
Report url
https://docs.clearpool.finance/clearpool/security/smart-contracts
Report id
doc:81cb8b8afef6e2fd
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

Pessimistic — Clearpool Security Analysis (May 2022)

Auditor
Pessimistic
Report date
2022-05-27
Scope
Updated Clearpool permissionless contracts
Findings
Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026.
Fix status
Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026.
Report url
https://4108300013-files.gitbook.io/~/files/v0/b/gitbook-x-prod.appspot.com/o/spaces%2FhkiSI8bK3ThlypJ3jdEC%2Fuploads%2FqK3fywIVhl0VQ2eT6EzP%2F2022-May-27%20Clearpool%20Security%20Analysis%20by%20Pessimistic.pdf?alt=media
Report id
doc:e837b5d38b141a2f
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

Pessimistic — Clearpool Security Analysis

Auditor
Pessimistic
Report date
2022-03-21
Scope
Early Clearpool lending contracts; exact chain not specified
Findings
1 critical plus multiple medium and low findings; exact count not verifiable as of September 6, 2026.
Fix status
Later Clearpool commentary states issues were resolved; report-level remediation status not independently verifiable.
Report url
https://3929482601-files.gitbook.io/~/files/v0/b/gitbook-x-prod.appspot.com/o/spaces%2FhkiSI8bK3ThlypJ3jdEC%2Fuploads%2FOFonx1OQS6ni5lUsyiPx%2FClearpool%20Security%20Analysis%20by%20Pessimistic.pdf?alt=media
Report id
doc:f14c8c9818be5244
Evidence (1)

audit

unverified

Hacken — Term Pools report; August 10, 2023; term-pool contracts. Deployed-code match: Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.

Auditor
Hacken
Report date
2023-08-10
Scope
Term Pools
Findings
Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.
Fix status
Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.
Evidence (1)

audit

unverified

Hacken — Credit Vaults report; January 8, 2024; open-term-pools contracts. Deployed-code match: Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.

Auditor
Hacken
Report date
2024-01-08
Scope
Auction, BondNFT, PoolFactory, PoolMaster and libraries
Findings
1 high, 1 medium, 2 low; L02 remained unresolved.
Fix status
All resolved except L02; final score reported 10/10.
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

Hacken — Prime Protocol final report; February 25, 2025; Ethereum lending/factory contracts. Deployed-code match: Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.

Auditor
Hacken
Report date
2025-02-25
Scope
Prime Protocol; commit a9d9e852; retest baf06f3
Findings
1 medium, 5 low, 3 observations; 9 total findings.
Fix status
5 resolved, 2 accepted, 2 mitigated.
Evidence (1)

audit

two sources

Clearpool.finance smart contract code review and security analysis (Clearpool Prime Protocol / Clearpool lending-related contracts).

Auditor
Hacken OÜ
Report date
2025-02-25
Scope
Customer: Clearpool.finance; audit timeline 2025-01-21 preliminary, 2025-02-17 secondary, 2025-02-25 final. Scope covered the protocol smart contracts reviewed in the report; the snippet does not fully enumerate every contract. The report is tied to the project’s security review and includes a bytecode-match note only if the audited code matches deployed code; Not verifiable as of 2026-09-03.
Findings
Critical: 0; High: 0; Medium: 1; Low: 5.
Fix status
Most issues were resolved; the report states the final security score was 10/10 after remediation, with the issue set resolved except for no remaining unresolved findings disclosed in the snippet.
Evidence (2)

Team & Reputation

founders

two sources

Clearpool is a fully public, non-anonymous team led by named executives with long traditional-finance and fintech careers, backed by recognizable venture investors; however, granular facts like legal entity structure, exact office locations, and chain-specific operations are Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. ### Founders & Core Team

  • Co‑founders: Robert Alcorn (often styled Rob), Alessio Quaglini, Jakob Kronbichler.
  • Roles:
  • Robert Alcorn – Co‑founder & CEO; ex‑Executive Director, Head of Repo Trading APAC at First Abu Dhabi Bank; >12 years in global markets, CFA charterholder.
  • Alessio Quaglini – Co‑founder & Senior Advisor; CEO and co‑founder of Hex Trust, a licensed digital asset custodian; prior roles at First Abu Dhabi Bank, BBVA, Accenture and the Italian securities regulator.
  • Jakob Kronbichler – Co‑founder, commonly described as CCO/CEO in different write‑ups; prior Commercial Director at Aspire (SEA neobank) and Rocket Internet portfolio builder.
  • Early tech leadership: Pavel Ivanov cited as CTO and leading a dev team based in Moscow. These individuals use real names, are interviewed in media and protocol channels, and have externally documented careers in regulated finance and licensed custody, which materially increases credibility vs. anon teams. ### Track Record & Prior Outcomes
  • Traditional finance: Alcorn and Quaglini both originate from large banks (First Abu Dhabi Bank, BBVA) and securities regulation.
  • Crypto / fintech:
  • Quaglini’s Hex Trust operates as a regulated institutional custodian in Asia, indicating experience with licensing, compliance and safeguarding digital assets.
  • Kronbichler’s background in Rocket Internet and Aspire points to prior involvement in launching and scaling consumer fintech businesses. No major protocol hacks or founder-linked scandals for Clearpool were found in independent overviews up to 2026; absence of evidence is not proof of absence but is a positive data point. Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. ### Public vs. Anon, Office, Jurisdiction, Onshore/Offshore
  • Team members are public, appear in AMAs and podcasts, and are profiled on third‑party sites (e.g., IQ.wiki, venture investor pages).
  • A prior interview mentions two team members in Hong Kong and a dev team in Moscow, suggesting a distributed, largely offshore footprint relative to major Western regulatory centers.
  • Clearpool is backed by investors such as Sequoia Capital India, Arrington Capital, Sino Global, HashKey, Hex Trust and others, implying some level of institutional due diligence on founders and legal setup, but exact entity domiciles (e.g., BVI vs. Singapore vs. Hong Kong) are Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. ### Reality Check: Business Substance vs. Web Front
  • Clearpool operates institutional uncollateralized lending, including a permissioned platform (Clearpool Prime) with KYB/AML onboarding for borrowers and lenders.
  • Borrowers must be institutions and undergo due‑diligence; Clearpool positions itself as a decentralized credit marketplace for institutional borrowers and stablecoin lenders.
  • Presence of named founders, institutional investors, and a separate regulated business (Hex Trust) connected to one co‑founder indicates a real operating business, not a purely anonymous web front, though full legal/regulatory posture across Ethereum, Flare, Mantle and OP Mainnet remains Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04.
Evidence (13)

general reputation

two sources

Clearpool Lending has a generally institutional/VC-backed reputation rather than an anonymous-launch profile. Independent web sources identify the founders as Robert Alcorn, Alessio Quaglini, and Jakob Kronbichler, and Clearpool’s own materials say it is backed by Sequoia Capital India, Arrington Capital, Sino Global Capital, HashKey, and Wintermute. Audit coverage is reported from CertiK and Pessimistic, and another independent summary says the protocol was also audited by Hacken and MixBytes, but I could not independently verify each audit report in this run.

Public sentiment appears mixed-to-positive: coverage frames Clearpool as a serious DeFi credit market aimed at institutions, with a public founder track record and visible investors, which usually lowers “anonymous rug” concern. I found no direct, protocol-specific fraud, rug-pull, or insolvency allegation in the sources reviewed, and no verified sanctions designation tied to the protocol itself. However, there is a separate regulatory/history caveat: search results surfaced FINRA-related enforcement material for an entity named Clearpool Execution Services, LLC, which appears to be a namesake/related tradfi firm, not clearly the DeFi protocol; I could not verify a direct link, so this remains Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04.

Unresolved concerns are mainly source-quality and verification gaps: several reputation claims originate from the protocol’s own materials or secondary profiles, and on-chain exposure, treasury, and chain-by-chain TVL checks were not verifiable in this run. I therefore cannot confirm or refute any hidden liabilities beyond the absence of strong public allegations in the material reviewed.

Evidence (8)

Economy

TVL: $234K

model

one source

Assessment (as of September 6, 2026): Clearpool Lending is primarily unsecured, institutional stablecoin credit. Lenders deposit stablecoins—currently principally USDC—and receive pool-specific cpTokens; yield is floating, utilization-based borrower interest. Dynamic Pools are permissionless for lenders but borrowers are whitelisted/KYC-screened.

Prime is permissioned, fixed-term, fixed-rate institutional lending. The exposure is directional credit risk, not market-neutral: returns depend on borrower repayment, pool utilization and liquidity. No verified evidence indicates core leverage loops, restaking, or external yield strategies; borrower use of funds may include trading/market-making, creating indirect external exposure. Organic vs subsidized: Base yield is organic borrower-paid interest.

CPOOL incentives are an additional subsidy/reward layer, but current Clearpool Lending incentive amounts are reported as zero by DeFiLlama. A defensible organic-yield percentage is not verifiable as of September 6, 2026; therefore organic_yield_pct = null. Current tracked average supply APY is 1.17%, but APY history, volatility and long-term sustainability are Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026. Liquidity mechanics and controls: Dynamic withdrawals are available anytime only subject to pool liquidity; no stated lock-up.

At 95% utilization borrower withdrawals pause; at 99%, lender and borrower withdrawals pause. A five-day warning/grace period can lead to default and auction mechanics. Prime has maturity/term risk: early withdrawal may be requested, but repayment is not guaranteed before maturity. Fees/revenue/collateral: Borrowers pay Prime origination and protocol fees; Dynamic protocol revenue is documented as 5% of pool interest, while insurance is pool-specific.

Lending is explicitly uncollateralized/overcollateral-free; insurance is only partial default protection. TVL (DeFiLlama, current page; not Dune): $234.8k total; Ethereum $68.0k (29.0%), OP Mainnet $23.6k (10.0%), Mantle $5.2k (2.2%), Flare $0. Active loans: $10.31m. DeFiLlama reports TVL down 8.3% over 30 days, $6.8k fees over 30 days, and $0 protocol revenue.

Product-level TVL split and Dune-vs-DeFiLlama reconciliation: Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026. Contradiction: Prior findings described Clearpool as mainly Ethereum/Flare/Mantle/OP; the current Clearpool Lending page reports nine chains and Base as largest (44%), while Flare is zero. The current DeFiLlama snapshot is the controlling finding for this review. leverage_ratio = null.

Evidence (5)

reserves

unverified

As of 2026-09-06, no independently verifiable consolidated Clearpool treasury/reserve balance, reserve-wallet inventory, composition, or liabilities schedule was found. Dune/on-chain verification is unavailable in this run; therefore on-chain balances, control relationships, and exact treasury size are: "Not verifiable as of 2026-09-06". The identifiable reserve-like product is the Flare USDX Treasury Pool (T-Pool).

Clearpool’s live interface reports 14,889,039.95 USDX TVL, a 3.5% APR, manager Hex Trust, and pool contract 0xfe2907dfa8db6e320cdbf45f0aa888f6135ec4f8. This is a user-facing investment pool, not evidence of a protocol-owned reserve. Reserve composition / custody: Clearpool documentation describes T-Pool as fully reserved; USDX is stated to be backed 1:1 by U.S. dollars or equivalent short-term assets, primarily 1–3 month U.S. Treasury bills, held with regulated tier-1 financial institutions.

These are protocol/issuer statements and remain an unverified marketing claim without an independent attestation or Dune-confirmed reserve mapping. Treasury control and policy: Documentation states that dynamic pools divert 5% of interest to a single protocol revenue pool, while Prime origination and protocol fees are sent to the Clearpool Treasury. Historical Clearpool disclosures state CPOOL treasury tokens were migrated from multisig wallets to Hex Trust cold storage; the current wallet set, balances, signer/control structure, and policy continuity are not independently verified. Attestations: Not verifiable as of 2026-09-06. No current third-party reserve attestation, proof-of-reserves report, or audited treasury balance was identified. Contradiction / scope warning: Clearpool’s reported overall TVL and T-Pool TVL are product metrics, not protocol liquid reserves.

Treating the 14.889M USDX T-Pool balance as Clearpool treasury capital would overstate reserves.

Evidence (6)

tokenomics

two sources

Clearpool’s native token is CPOOL; Clearpool Lending is a product under the Clearpool protocol. On‑chain verification is not possible in this run: Not verifiable as of 2026‑09‑04. Token identity & main contracts (Ethereum)

  • Token: Clearpool (CPOOL), ERC‑20.
  • Known Ethereum contract address (token): 0xC88c5Ba22c8cEcbE6Ff48A9210C3F1fDafB205E7.
  • Clearpool Lending uses separate pool contracts per chain; exact lending pool addresses per chain are Not verifiable as of 2026‑09‑04. Supply, market cap, FDV
  • Multiple sources cite a max/total supply of 1,000,000,000 CPOOL.
  • Circulating supply and market cap/FDV differ slightly between analytics sites (CoinGecko, CoinMarketCap, DefiLlama) but are all in the range of $30–60m market cap and $60–90m FDV as of recent data. These are aggregator estimates, not on‑chain verified. > Contradiction box: Exact circulating supply and market cap are Not verifiable as of 2026‑09‑04; numbers from aggregators conflict at the 10–20% level. Token utility & governance
  • Utility: CPOOL is used for staking and providing liquidity to borrower pools, influencing credit lines and yields.
  • Governance: Clearpool states CPOOL is the governance token for protocol decisions and pool parameters. With no governance contracts checked, this is an unverified marketing claim as of 2026‑09‑04. Revenue share, buybacks, burns, staking rewards
  • Clearpool describes rewards in CPOOL for staking and liquidity provision; yields come from borrower interest spreads. Specific revenue share, buyback or burn mechanisms are not clearly documented and are Not verifiable as of 2026‑09‑04. Emissions & unlock schedule; allocations
  • A published token distribution shows allocations to team, investors, ecosystem/treasury, liquidity mining, and community with multi‑year vesting. Percent splits (e.g., ~20–25% to team/investors combined) vary slightly across sources and are aggregator/marketing data, not on‑chain verified.
  • Detailed emissions schedule, cliff dates, and whether unlocks occurred on‑chain are Not verifiable as of 2026‑09‑04. Holder concentration & contract controls
  • Top‑holder concentration, insider wallets, and presence of mint/blacklist/fee‑switch functions in CPOOL or pool contracts are Not verifiable as of 2026‑09‑04. DEX liquidity & listings
  • CPOOL is listed on major CEXs (e.g., Coinbase, Kraken, KuCoin) and DEXs (Uniswap) on Ethereum.
  • Liquidity depth per pair and per chain (Flare, Mantle, OP Mainnet) cannot be quantified here: Not verifiable as of 2026‑09‑04.
Evidence (7)

Stress scenarios

stress scenario - bitcoin price falls below $10000

two sources

Clearpool Lending’s core risk under a Bitcoin crash below $10,000 is not a protocol-wide liquidation spiral on the lending product itself, because Clearpool’s lending is described as unsecured, on-chain liquidity for Dynamic Pools, and Clearpool has also described its permissionless lending as eliminating liquidation risk. The more relevant stress is borrower default / repayment shortfall on single-borrower or unsecured credit exposures, which can impair lender returns even if there is no collateral liquidation mechanism. A Bitcoin move below $10,000 would likely be a systemic crypto stress event rather than a product-specific trigger.

In broader crypto markets, sharp price shocks can force deleveraging, collateral breaches, and liquidity evaporation, and the ECB notes that crypto rehypothecation and volatility can quickly push LTV limits out of bounds and drain liquidity. That means Clearpool’s risk would mainly come from correlated borrower stress: institutions borrowing through Clearpool could face weaker balance sheets, higher funding stress, or default risk if they are exposed to BTC-linked revenue, treasury, or trading activity. On the available sources, the following is not verifiable as of 2026-09-04: protocol-specific loss rates, bad debt under a BTC-$10k scenario, chain-by-chain exposure across Ethereum, Flare, Mantle, and OP Mainnet, and whether any specific pools are BTC-linked rather than just correlated to BTC market stress.

The protocol page lists lending pools across networks, but the retrieved results do not provide audited, chain-segmented TVL or borrower concentration data for a scenario analysis. So the stress conclusion is: Clearpool Lending’s main vulnerability in a BTC sub-$10k shock is borrower-credit deterioration and liquidity flight, not collateral liquidation mechanics. If you want, I can next map the protocol’s documented pool structure by chain and identify which exposures are most likely to be sensitive to BTC drawdowns.

Evidence (4)

stress scenario - largest collateral depegs 20%,

unverified

Clearpool Lending is not a collateralized lending protocol in the usual DeFi sense: the available sources describe it as unsecured institutional lending, where borrower default is the primary loss event rather than collateral liquidation. Because of that, a “largest collateral depeg 20%” stress test is not directly applicable to Clearpool’s core risk model, and the impact cannot be translated into a protocol loss estimate from the provided sources. Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04.

What can be said is that Clearpool’s documented downside path is borrower utilization stress and default handling: pools move to High-Util at 95%, Warning at 99%, then Default after a 120-hour grace period if utilization is not reduced, with recovery via an auction of cpTokens and an insurance account funded by a share of pool interest. In prior market stress, Clearpool pools reportedly reached warning levels but paid down without recorded losses, which supports the view that the main stress variable is borrower repayment capacity, not collateral depeg. If you want a quantitative stress case, the relevant metric for Clearpool is not collateral price shock but borrower default rate / recovery rate by chain and pool.

With the current inputs, that is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04.

Evidence (7)

stress scenario - top counterparty insolvent — each with expected loss path, who absorbs it, compensation, and the impact path through the smart contracts;

two sources

Clearpool Lending is an uncollateralized lending protocol, so in a borrower insolvency the primary loss path is: borrower defaults, the pool enters the default process, and lenders are repaid only from the pool’s insurance/recovery account and any proceeds from the default auction; there is no collateral waterfall to protect lenders. This applies conceptually across the listed chains because the default/insurance design is protocol-level, but chain-specific on-chain exposure is not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. Expected loss path: the insolvent borrower stops repaying, the pool can move through high-utilization/warning/default states, and an auction is triggered to resolve the debt. If the auction clears, lenders receive their pro-rata share of the winning bid; if it does not, lenders receive their pro-rata share of the insurance account only.

That means the residual shortfall is borne by cpToken holders / lenders. Who absorbs it:

  • Lenders absorb the unpaid principal after insurance and auction proceeds are applied.
  • Insurance account absorbs the first loss up to the accumulated balance.
  • Winning auction bidder (if any) effectively replaces the defaulted debt by paying the auction price.
  • There is no evidence in the gathered sources of an external guarantor or protocol-wide backstop that fully compensates insolvency losses. Compensation path: lenders are compensated first from the insurance account and, depending on the auction outcome, from the auction proceeds. Clearpool’s docs state the insurance amount is diverted from pool interest, and that in a default it can be claimed by cpToken holders; if the pool is later closed, remaining insurance is transferred to protocol revenue rather than to lenders. Impact through smart contracts: the pool-level contracts track utilization, enter warning/default states, divert interest into insurance, and execute the auction/default resolution logic. The loss allocation is therefore enforced at the pool contract layer, not by collateral liquidation. Cross-chain note: for Ethereum, Flare, Mantle, and OP Mainnet, the same default architecture is documented, but the exact live deployment set, balances, and per-chain TVL split are Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 without on-chain queries.
Evidence (4)

stress scenario - committed fraud by the DAO or owners

two sources

Clearpool does not show direct evidence in the provided sources of a committed fraud by the DAO or owners. What the sources do show is that Clearpool’s design has included owner/borrower privilege and governance-risk surfaces that could enable malicious behavior, but the cited audit described these as design drawbacks or access-control issues rather than proven fraud incidents. The strongest relevant finding is from the 2022 Pessimistic audit, which said pool owners could act maliciously by borrowing the maximum amount, triggering default, winning auctions, and increasing their income; the report also noted this issue was fixed in the latest code.

A 2024 audit by Hacken identified that KYC checks could be bypassed in some flows, creating a risk that unauthorized parties could open or borrow from a pool, and it also found sender-eligibility checks were incomplete in token transfer logic. Another Hacken review noted the Prime contract owner could update penalty rates at any time without limitation, which creates centralized control risk but is not itself evidence of fraud. Clearpool’s documentation also confirms that institutional borrowers are subject to KYC/AML and that defaults trigger warning, grace-period, and auction mechanics.

However, these controls do not establish that the DAO or owners have actually committed fraud; they only define how the protocol is intended to operate. Assessment for the stress scenario:

  • Confirmed fraud by DAO/owners: Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04.
  • Material governance/insider abuse risk: Yes, based on audit-identified privilege and control issues.
  • On-chain verification: Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04, because on-chain checks are unavailable in this run. If you want, I can next assess whether there were any public allegations, legal actions, or incident reports specifically naming Clearpool DAO, founders, or pool owners.
Evidence (5)

stress scenario - primary yield source negative 30d,

unverified

For Clearpool Lending, the available sources do not provide a verifiable 30-day primary-yield time series, so a negative 30d primary yield stress result is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. What can be verified is that Clearpool’s lending pools include assets on Ethereum, Flare, and Mantle, and the protocol page lists current pool APR ranges and pool sizes by network, but it does not expose a 30-day realized yield series or a primary-yield decomposition needed to confirm the stress condition. The protocol’s design documentation also shows that lender returns accrue from borrower pool utilization, with default / high-utilization mechanics tied to utilization thresholds rather than a documented 30-day “primary yield” metric.

Because the user asked for a stress scenario and the required 30-day yield input is missing from verifiable sources, the correct risk-analyst output is that the scenario cannot be evidenced from the provided materials. Any claim that Clearpool’s primary yield source is negative over the last 30 days would be an unverified marketing claim unless supported by an independent analytics dataset or on-chain reconstruction, which is not available here.

Evidence (3)

Governance & Legal

governance

two sources

As of September 13, 2026, Clearpool governance appears operationally team-led, not a fully autonomous DAO. The documented governance mechanism is limited to whitelisted CPOOL-staked Oracles voting every two weeks on interest-rate-model parameters; voting power is capped at 15% per Oracle. This does not evidence token-holder control over upgrades, contracts, treasury, frontend deployment, or emergency actions.

Therefore, dao_governance=false. Proposal process: a 2023 governance-forum announcement described a staged DAO plan: forum discussion, a new staking model, then governance proposals, with proposal logic and voting details initially unspecified. Current evidence of binding token-holder proposals or execution authority was not found.

Frontend/development control is associated with the verified clearpool-finance GitHub organization and clearpool.finance domain. Contract ownership, proxy-admins, upgrade authority, treasury/revenue-pool signers, emergency roles, timelock, multisig threshold/signers, signer independence, and admin ability to move user funds: Not verifiable as of September 13, 2026. Dune was unavailable, so voting concentration and top holders are also Not verifiable as of September 13, 2026; no on-chain claim is made.

Company linkage: Clearpool Technologies Pte. Ltd., Singapore, UEN 202116347Z, incorporated May 7, 2021, is reported by an aggregator as struck off on March 26, 2026. This conflicts with older cached records showing it as live.

Directors are Not verifiable as of September 13, 2026. The platform-terms document was located, but the contracting entity and its control relationship to the protocol were not conclusively established. CONTRADICTION: the company-status records conflict; the newer record says struck off, while the older page says live.

Treat corporate control and continuity as unresolved.

Dao governance
No
Evidence (6)

legal & regulatory

one source

Clearpool is a DeFi credit protocol offering permissionless and permissioned lending markets; Clearpool Lending is the on-chain lending product within this ecosystem. Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 whether “Clearpool Lending” is a separately incorporated legal entity distinct from the broader Clearpool group. Legal entity & jurisdiction • The main operating entity is Clearpool Protocol Pte. Ltd., incorporated in Singapore, as stated in Clearpool’s Terms of Use. • The protocol team also references operations from the United Kingdom in some materials (e.g., job postings and company descriptions), but primary contractual jurisdiction for users is Singapore. • No evidence of a distinct Flare/Mantle/Optimism-specific legal entity; these are deployments of the same protocol.

Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 whether any chain-local foundation exists. Terms of Service (ToS) & access restrictions • Clearpool’s Terms of Use restrict access by U.S. persons and residents of certain sanctioned or high-risk jurisdictions (e.g., Iran, North Korea), and by users on OFAC or similar sanctions lists. • Users must represent they are not using the protocol on behalf of a sanctioned entity and acknowledge the protocol can block access in response to sanctions obligations. • The ToS frames Clearpool as providing technology/information only and disclaims offering regulated financial services or investment advice; all use is at the user’s own risk. KYC / AML & classification • Clearpool runs both permissionless pools (no KYC at smart-contract level) and permissioned / "Clearpool Prime" markets targeting institutional borrowers where KYC/AML checks are performed off-chain via regulated partners or credit facilitators. • This structure positions the protocol as credit infrastructure, with pools potentially treated as lending/credit facilities under some regulatory views, but classification as a security or collective investment scheme is jurisdiction-specific and not clearly resolved. Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 for any formal regulatory classification. Regulatory actions, warnings, sanctions • Web search shows no public enforcement actions (e.g., SEC, MAS, FCA) naming Clearpool Protocol Pte. Ltd. or Clearpool Lending specifically.

Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 for any hidden/non-public actions. • No listing of Clearpool or its entities on major sanctions lists (OFAC, EU, UN) was found. Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 for all jurisdictions. • No court cases were identified involving Clearpool as defendant or plaintiff in relation to the protocol. Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. Data protection & actual risk vs legal framing • ToS include standard privacy and data-protection clauses for website/app usage; blockchain interactions themselves are public and not subject to erasure. • Legal framing emphasizes user self-responsibility and protocol neutrality, but actual risk remains that regulators could later treat certain pools or tokenized exposures as unlicensed credit/securities activities, especially for institutional products, with potential impact on operators and large users.

This is an inference based on general DeFi regulatory trends, not on any specific source.

Entity
Clearpool Protocol Pte. Ltd.
Jurisdiction
Singapore
Evidence (2)

legal registries

two sources

No exact GLEIF LEI record for 'Clearpool Protocol Pte. Ltd', 'Clearpool Lending'. OFAC SDN screening of 'Clearpool Protocol Pte. Ltd', 'Clearpool Lending': no match. SEC litigation and administrative release feeds: no mention.

Screened names
  • Clearpool Protocol Pte. Ltd
  • Clearpool Lending
Sanctioned
No
Evidence (4)

Stability

stability

two sources

Clearpool Lending does not issue its own stablecoin; the protocol uses external stablecoins such as USDC and USDX in different pools/products, with RLUSD also referenced for newer XRP Ledger-related plans. A protocol-specific stablecoin depeg series is not verifiable as of 2026-09-06, and no on-chain-verified depeg count, last depeg date, or max depeg percentage could be confirmed from the available evidence. The safest classification is that the protocol is not a stablecoin issuer, and the stability status of the stablecoins it uses is not verifiable as of 2026-09-06.

Own stablecoin
No
Evidence (5)

Risks & Strengths

risks

one source

Clearpool’s dominant risk is unsecured, single-borrower credit exposure: recovery after default depends on borrower repayment, auction execution, insurance, and legal recourse rather than collateral liquidation. Smart-contract, oracle/credit-assessment, stablecoin, liquidity, and governance risks can amplify losses. Chain-level TVL and exposure percentages for Ethereum, Flare, Mantle, and OP Mainnet are Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026 because on-chain verification was unavailable.

RiskImpactSeverityProbabilityMitigation in placeResidual risk
Unsecured borrower defaultDynamic and Prime lending is unsecured or undercollateralized. A borrower failure can impair principal; default controls trigger an auction and may provide only partial insurance recovery.HighHighWhitelisting, Credora assessments, utilization triggers, a grace period, auctions, and an insurance allocation are documented controls. Current borrower-level credit quality and insurance sufficiency are Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.High loss-given-default and borrower concentration risk remain.
Liquidity lockup during stressWithdrawals become restricted as utilization approaches 99%, and redemptions remain subject to available pool liquidity; lenders may be unable to exit during a run or default.HighHighUtilization-based interest-rate increases, high-utilization controls, and five-day grace periods are designed to attract liquidity or prompt repayment.Liquidity can still disappear precisely when lenders need it most.
Smart-contract vulnerabilityPool, vault, auction, and rate-provider code can contain exploitable authorization or accounting defects; a 2026 security disclosure identified a medium-severity caller-sensitive rate-provider bypass in PayFi Vaults.HighMediumMultiple third-party audits and a public security-disclosure process exist. Audit coverage does not prove safety of every deployed version or chain.Undiscovered bugs, upgrade/configuration risk, and deployment drift remain.
Oracle and credit-model dependenceInterest-rate and risk decisions depend on governance inputs, CPOOL-staking oracles, and Credora credit assessments; inaccurate, delayed, unavailable, or manipulated inputs can misprice risk.MediumMediumCredora is described as an independent third-party assessor using privacy-preserving technology, while utilization curves provide an additional market signal.Methodology opacity, data latency, and correlated model error remain.
Stablecoin depeg exposureClearpool pools are denominated in stablecoins; a depeg or issuer event can reduce lender purchasing power or create losses even if the borrower repays nominal units.MediumMediumPool-specific asset denomination and borrower/pool monitoring limit some operational ambiguity; no protocol-level principal guarantee is documented.Issuer, reserve, regulatory, and cross-chain stablecoin risks remain.
Evidence (5)

strengths

two sources

Clearpool Lending’s top strengths are: 1) Uncollateralized institutional lending, which lets vetted borrowers access capital without the overcollateralization common in DeFi; 2) Dynamic, market-driven pricing, where utilization-based interest rates help align supply and demand and keep lending terms responsive; 3) Strong lender risk tooling, including on-chain credit metrics, borrower transparency, and pool-level decision-making that improves due diligence; 4) Risk diversification options, since lenders can choose among single-borrower pools and thematic or multi-pool exposure rather than concentrating in one book; 5) Multi-chain reach and composability, with deployment across Ethereum, Flare, Mantle, and OP Mainnet enabling broader capital access and DeFi integration. A concise way to view Clearpool is that it competes on capital efficiency, transparent credit underwriting, and yield opportunities for lenders rather than on collateralized safety alone.

Evidence (5)

Methodology & Limitations

  • On-chain metrics: not verifiable — Dune phase 2 is not enabled.
  • 0 of 25 fact categories not yet collected.
  • Fact verifiability: 18 two independent sources, 18 one source, 13 unverified.
  • Oldest fact verification date: 2026-08-29.