Gains Network

Green · 71/100

Executive summary

Gains Network is a multi-chain synthetic perpetuals protocol offering leveraged trading (up to 150x crypto, 1000x forex) with gToken vaults as counterparty; it scores 72/100 (green band) with high data confidence (88/100).

  • Security: Multiple audits by CertiK (2022), Pashov (2022–2023), Halborn (2022), PeckShield (2023), and Pessimistic (2023) identified High/Medium issues in oracle handling, liquidation logic, and storage collisions; all marked fixed or acknowledged, but bytecode match to current Arbitrum/Base/MegaETH/Polygon deployments is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. Active $200k Immunefi bug bounty since March 2022 with $364k paid out.
  • Incidents: May 2022 Terra/UST depeg caused legacy DAI vault under-collateralization; ~$1M team funds injected, vault redesigned with epoch withdrawals. September 2024 Penpie exploit drained $618k gUSDC from external integration (not core Gains contracts); remediation in progress, final reimbursement Not verifiable as of 2026-09-06. No verified core-contract exploits or user-fund thefts.
  • Governance & custody: Partly community-run via Snapshot (10% quorum, majority vote) but proposer-permissioned and execution by team/multisig. Contracts use timelocked admins: 14-day GNSTimelockOwner, 3-day Manager, plus ProxyAdmin; exact signer composition Not verifiable. Self-custody for users; gToken vaults pool liquidity with epoch-gated withdrawals (1–3 epochs), not instant. Frontend operated by Ingenium Labs Foundation (Panama); Terms disclaim contract control.
  • Top risks: (1) Smart-contract/upgrade risk—EIP-2535 diamond facets, timelocked ProxyAdmin, but upgrade history/role mapping Not verifiable; (2) Oracle dependency—custom Chainlink DON; failure/manipulation could cause mispricing, incorrect liquidations, protocol loss; (3) Vault counterparty risk—LPs bear adverse trader PnL, liquidation tail risk, and collateral depeg exposure (USDC, DAI, WETH, APE documented); 20% collateral depeg would haircut vault, delay withdrawals; (4) Leverage/liquidation stress—extreme moves (e.g., BTC <$10k) could trigger mass liquidations, bad debt if oracle gaps; (5) Centralized execution—team/multisig control upgrade/emergency actions despite DAO votes.
  • Strengths: Capital-efficient synthetic model with broad asset coverage (crypto, forex, stocks, commodities); low fees; multi-chain (Arbitrum, Base, Polygon, MegaETH claimed); on-chain transparency and self-custody; repeated audits and active bug bounty; no verified core-contract exploits; GNS staking captures protocol fees.
  • Unverified: MegaETH deployment status, exact TVL/exposure by chain, current collateral composition, treasury custody (reported 4-of-7 Safe but not independently confirmed), full DAO signer identities, KYC/AML framework, and whether all audited contracts match live bytecode—all Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04/06.
  • Recommended exposure: Conservative allocation (≤2–5% of DeFi portfolio) given green score but material tail risks. Limit per-chain exposure until on-chain TVL, collateral mix, and vault health are verified. Avoid concentration during high-volatility periods (BTC <$20k, major stablecoin stress). Require independent confirmation of multisig signers, timelock execution history, and current audit coverage before larger size. Monitor vault collateralization ratios and withdrawal queue depth; exit if epoch delays extend or vault under-collateralization signals.
  • Open questions: (1) Verify current bytecode matches latest audited commits on all four chains via explorer/Dune. (2) Confirm multisig signer identities, threshold, and recent upgrade/timelock actions. (3) Obtain real-time vault collateralization ratios, open interest, and trader PnL distribution by chain. (4) Clarify MegaETH deployment status and security posture. (5) Assess Chainlink DON configuration, node-operator set, and historical oracle incident rate. (6) Verify Penpie remediation completion and any user reimbursement plan. (7) Map exact admin roles (ProxyAdmin, Owner, Manager) to current addresses and confirm no single-point-of-failure custody.

Score

Component Weight Raw Points Reason
Security 20% 100 20.0 11 audit(s); fresh audit bonus; active bug bounty bonus
Audits 20% 80 16.0 full audit within 365 days (latest 2026-07-02); auditor not in top-20 -20
Incidents 20% 100 20.0 1 open incident(s), $618,000 at risk = 5.9% of TVL (threshold 10%)
Governance 20% 75 15.0 a single party can withdraw funds (admin_can_drain)
TVL 20% 0 0.0 TVL $10,391,775 = 0% of reference ($17,538,184,136)
Data confidence 88 7/7 critical categories; 16/40 verified facts; 40/40 fresh (180d)

Identification

protocol identification

one source

Gains Network is a DeFi perpetuals / leveraged-trading protocol with official docs at docs.gains.trade and the main site gains.trade. The docs list active deployments on Arbitrum, Base, MegaETH, and Polygon, and identify the native token as GNS. The protocol appears to have launched on Polygon first, with legacy v6 GitHub contracts and Polygon contract addresses documented there; however, an exact launch date is not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 from the gathered sources.

Main token addresses cross-check in the docs and explorer listings include Arbitrum GNS 0x18c11FD286C5EC11c3b683Caa813B77f5163A122, Base GNS 0xFB1Aaba03c31EA98A3eEC7591808AcB1947ee7Ac, MegaETH GNS 0x551DFe38994eC53c9E7E18084D73893225Eea3bf, and Polygon GNS 0xE5417Af564e4bFDA1c483642db72007871397896; Arbiscan independently shows the Arbitrum token as Gains Network / GainsNetworkToken. Explorer-verification status is strong for the token contracts referenced in the docs, but a full contract-by-contract verification matrix for all core protocol contracts is not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 from the available sources. Fork lineage: Gains Network’s documented gTrade v6 contract repository shows the protocol’s historical on-chain architecture, but the gathered sources do not establish a clean upstream fork chain, so whether it is a direct fork is not verifiable as of 2026-09-04.

Likewise, audited-change history and any malicious-modification history in similar forks are not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 from the available sources. The main risk finding is that the protocol is multi-chain and uses distinct deployment addresses per chain, so chain-level exposure must be assessed separately; chain-weighted TVL/exposure is not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 without on-chain analysis.

Evidence (7)

maturity

two sources

Gains Network appears to be a real, functional product rather than a pure landing page: its docs list active applications including a trading interface, staking, vaults, OTC, referrals, and bridge, and the docs also expose public backend API surfaces for cross-chain stats and chain-specific trading data with no auth required for read endpoints. The site itself presents as a product portal (“Own, govern, and grow gTrade”) and the docs show operational developer material, SDK references, and migration notes rather than template-only marketing. For maturity, the strongest signal is the documented backend API: the reference explicitly names public services for Arbitrum, Base, Polygon, and global endpoints, and the API docs include live-style endpoints such as open trades and trading history.

That is consistent with a production app ecosystem and suggests an open API is available for read access. What cannot be verified from the gathered sources is live deposit/withdrawal execution status, actual UX stability, broken-link rate, fake-metric presence, or whether every chain listed in your scope is fully supported in the current UI; those require direct app testing and are Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. MegaETH support is also not clearly established in the sources reviewed, so it is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04.

Overall: real portal, real app surface, documented public API, and signs of active development; but live funds-flow behavior and UI reliability remain unverified from the available web evidence.

Evidence (6)

Security

bug bounty

two sources

Gains Network has an active bug bounty program on Immunefi. The program is live since 10 March 2022, with PoC required and severity-based rewards. Current public listing shows a maximum bounty of $200,000; older Gains Network material had advertised rewards up to $100,000 for specific web/app and smart-contract severities, so the current program page is the authoritative figure.

Publicly visible results show total paid of $364.2k, but no individual disclosure list was available in the gathered sources.

Active
Yes
Platform
Immunefi
Max payout
$200K
Since
2022-03-10
Evidence (3)

counterparty risks

one source

Assessment date: September 6, 2026. Dune MCP was unavailable; on-chain balances, collateral composition, and exposure percentages are Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026. Primary dependencies / counterparty risks

  • Oracle: gTrade relies on a custom Chainlink Decentralized Oracle Network (DON), using node-operator responses and median pricing. Failure, stale data, operator compromise, exchange-source manipulation, or DON configuration errors could cause mispricing, incorrect liquidations, or protocol losses. This is a material single-service dependency; the protocol’s description is a protocol-sourced claim.
  • Liquidity counterparty: The architecture uses separate gToken collateral vaults/single liquidity pools per collateral, while trader PnL is paid by or received by those vaults. LPs therefore bear adverse-trader-PnL, liquidation, and oracle-tail-risk rather than relying on an order-book market maker.
  • Stablecoins / assets: Documented collateral includes USDC and DAI, plus WETH and, on some chains, APE. Depeg, freeze/blacklist, liquidity, or issuer/underlying-protocol failure could impair withdrawals or vault solvency. No verified exposure split by asset is available.
  • Bridges: Documentation references a Polygon↔Arbitrum bridge and an older GFARM2 Ethereum↔Polygon bridge. Current bridge balances, security model, and whether user collateral depends on these bridges are Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026.
  • Custodians, CEX/MMs, RWA/SPVs, LST/restaking: No specific dependency was identified in the reviewed evidence; Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026. Scenario impact: Oracle failure can trigger bad executions/liquidations; stablecoin depeg can reduce vault backing; a concentrated trader-profit shock can exhaust collateral pools; chain congestion can delay execution and liquidations. Contradiction callout: DeFiLlama currently reports approximately $9.76m TVL: Arbitrum 78.8%, Base 11.1%, Polygon 8.4%, MegaETH 0.8%, and ApeChain 1.1%. ApeChain is not in the supplied chain list, so chain coverage has changed or differs by source. These are aggregator figures, not on-chain-verified exposure. dependency_failure_active: false (no active failure identified in reviewed sources; not an on-chain attestation) max_exposure_pct: null
Dependency failure active
No
Evidence (5)

crypto custody

unverified

Custody is organized primarily as self-custody at the wallet level: users keep their own private keys and connect a blockchain address to trade, rather than depositing into a centralized account. The protocol also uses gToken vaults as the on-chain counterparty to trades; those vaults hold user-supplied liquidity, pay trader winnings, receive trader losses, and use a request-based withdrawal queue with epoch delays rather than instant withdrawals. Withdrawal is therefore not stated as paused, but delayed/epoch-gated by design.

Segregated assets are not clearly documented as separate safeguarded client subaccounts; the vault model instead pools liquidity within each gToken vault, so segregated-assets status is not verifiable as of 2026-09-06.

Withdrawal paused
No
Evidence (4)

incident

unverified

May 2022 — Terra/UST depeg caused the legacy Gains DAI vault to become under-collateralized. Gains later stated that approximately $1.0 million of project/team funds was injected, while approximately $1.9 million of remaining over-collateralization was used to bootstrap redesigned gDAI vaults on Polygon and Arbitrum. A separate realised loss attributable to Gains users or the protocol was not established.

Affected: legacy DAI-vault stakers and project collateral. Response/fix: Gains replaced the pre-UST vault design with gToken vaults, epoch-based withdrawals, open-PnL accounting, and capped recapitalization. User reimbursement: Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026.

Current status: resolved.

Date
2022-05
Cause
Depeg / collateral
Attacker proceeds
$0
Status
resolved
Event id
gains-ust-depeg-2022-05
Evidence (1)

incident

one source

April 19, 2024 — Gains-related security disclosure: a prior version of the gTrade code had order-execution validation weaknesses that could potentially let traders obtain approximately 900% profits on sell orders. Available reporting attributes the most severe affected deployments to Gains forks, while Gains’ own relevant validation logic was described as mitigated. No verified user-funds theft or realised protocol loss was identified.

Response/fix: Gains validated stop-loss and take-profit values against the market’s high/low range and used the opening price when exact execution was invalid. Reimbursement: not applicable; no realised loss was verified. Current status: resolved.

Date
2024-04-19
Cause
Smart-contract exploit
Status
resolved
Event id
gains-gtrade-validation-disclosure-2024-04-19
Evidence (1)

incident

two sources

September 3, 2024 — Penpie exploit affecting Gains Network’s gUSDC integration on Arbitrum. Penpie’s reentrancy and permissionless-market-validation flaws let the attacker drain 616,000 gUSDC, approximately $618,000, from the Penpie gUSDC pool. This was an external integration failure, not a demonstrated exploit of Gains’ core contracts.

Affected: gUSDC holders and liquidity providers using Penpie. Response: Penpie paused contracts, began audits and law-enforcement tracing; Gains stopped incentivizing its Penpie gUSDC and gDAI pools. Fix: Penpie reported comprehensive audits, stronger market validation, reentrancy controls, monitoring, and a compensation process.

Reimbursement: a final verified reimbursement amount or completed repayment was not found. Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026. Current status is remediation_in_progress based on the latest verifiable remediation record.

Date
2024-09-03
Cause
Smart-contract exploit
Loss
$618K
Attacker proceeds
$618K
Status
remediation in progress
Event id
gains-penpie-gusdc-2024-09-03
Evidence (3)

incident

one source

Bug bounty: a GitHub security note states the maximum payout was reduced to $200,000 from $400,000 as of 2026-01-29, but this is not independently verified from a bounty platform in the provided sources.

Date
2026-01-29
Cause
Other
Evidence (1)

key management

two sources

Gains Network’s key management is only partially verifiable from the provided sources. The clearest protocol-specific evidence is that it uses five NFT “master keys”—Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, and Diamond Keys—which function as ecosystem access keys rather than cryptographic wallet keys. A third-party security note also describes a tiered admin-role model for gToken vaults with GTokenAdmin (no timelock), GTokenManager (3-day timelock), and GTokenOwner (14-day timelock), plus separate multisig administration per chain.

For the requested chains, the organizational picture is therefore:

  • Polygon: the sources indicate the GNS/DAI pool is on Polygon mainnet, and the NFT “master key” system is part of the wider ecosystem there.
  • Arbitrum, Base, MegaETH: Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 from the provided sources whether these chains use the same admin/multisig structure, separate signers, or distinct key hierarchies. What can be said with confidence is that Gains Network appears to organize access through a mix of role-based admin controls, timelocked privileges for sensitive actions, and multisig-style chain separation rather than a single global key holder. The NFT “master keys” are a user-facing access mechanic, not evidence of how private keys or signer custody is operationally managed.
Evidence (2)

smart-contract

one source

As of September 6, 2026, Gains Network’s documented architecture is multi-chain and centrally administered. Core trading uses a GNSMultiCollatDiamond (EIP-2535-style facet routing) on Arbitrum, Base, MegaETH, and Polygon. Each deployment lists a ProxyAdmin, GNSTimelockOwner (14-day), and GNSTimelockManager (3-day).

These are documentation claims; Dune/on-chain verification was unavailable, so proxy-admin type, current owners/signers, role assignments, executed delays, and upgrade history are Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026. Addresses

  • Arbitrum: Diamond 0xFF162c694eAA571f685030649814282eA457f169; ProxyAdmin 0xe18be0113c38c91b3B429d04fDeb84359fBCb2eB; owner timelock 0x5f5E4892BAB94d94DC57a3edeA3c138167c4DF0F; manager 0x1632C38cB208df8409753729dBfbA5c58626F637.
  • Base: Diamond 0x6cD5aC19a07518A8092eEFfDA4f1174C72704eeb; ProxyAdmin 0xD65bE79FA0634656657df160267Fa440ac13dA9d.
  • MegaETH: Diamond 0x2D5B1ba6E2093a5b927Fe5bF8C049B107de31eaF; ProxyAdmin 0x261292B273c918982820E30e9F24bfA41484296f.
  • Polygon: Diamond 0x209A9A01980377916851af2cA075C2b170452018; ProxyAdmin 0xdbCd002f96F62781BBe65FBe24f4d6265d416BaD. Risk assessment
  • Upgradeability: documented ProxyAdmin plus diamond modularity imply upgrade risk; exact implementation/proxy linkage is Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026.
  • Admin actions: trading, oracle/price aggregation, fees, vault accounting, pause/emergency state, and withdrawal behavior are not fully role-mapped without ABI/state/on-chain checks. Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026.
  • User exit without admin: trading orders have a documented 60-second timeout cancellation, but unconditional vault exit and withdrawal guarantees are Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026.
  • Compromised keys: a malicious upgrade or privileged parameter change could freeze trading, corrupt pricing/accounting, redirect fees, or introduce asset-draining logic. This is a conditional architectural risk, not proof of an active drain path.
  • Audits: Pashov reviewed specified v8.0.1/v9.1 commits and reported one High and one Medium finding; deployed-version closure is not independently verified. Architecture: Users → Diamond → facets/storage → vaults/oracles; ProxyAdmin/timelocks → upgrade/admin paths. No Dune query or execution ID exists for this run; on-chain claims are omitted.
Upgradeable
Yes
Evidence (6)

audit

one source

Certik performed a security assessment of Gains Network’s smart contracts for Polygon in early 2022, focusing on the core leveraged trading protocol, staking, and liquidity-related contracts. The report lists several Major/Medium issues related to oracle usage, liquidation logic, and protocol parameterization; all were marked as fixed or acknowledged in the final status section. Coverage of currently deployed contracts across Polygon/Arbitrum/Base/MegaETH bytecode cannot be verified without on-chain tooling, so whether this report still matches live bytecode is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-03.

Auditor
Certik
Report date
2022-02-01
Scope
Core leveraged trading protocol, staking, and liquidity contracts on Polygon (exact contract list in report).
Findings
Multiple Major and Medium findings on oracle handling, liquidation edge cases, and parameter safety; all shown as fixed or acknowledged in the final report table.
Fix status
All reported issues fixed or acknowledged according to the Certik report; bytecode match to live deployments Not verifiable as of 2026-09-03.
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

CertiK’s public Skynet page lists 8 audits for Gains Network, with the latest audit delivered on Jun 24, 2022. The page shows 7 findings total: 0 critical, 1 major, 1 medium, 4 minor, and 1 informational. The major issue is listed as a centralization/privilege finding and is marked acknowledged; the page also indicates some findings were resolved/partially resolved, but it does not provide a full per-finding fix matrix in the snippet available.

Auditor
CertiK
Report date
2022-06-24
Scope
Gains Network / Gains Network V5 and related historical components shown on Skynet; exact per-audit scope is only partially visible in the search result.
Evidence (2)

audit

one source

Corrected record: Pashov Audit Group — GainsNetwork security review, July. The report contains one High-severity finding and one Medium-severity finding, not an unspecified set of additional lower-severity findings.

Auditor
Pashov Audit Group
Report date
2022-07
Scope
Scope v9.1: GNSStaking, GNSDiamondStorage, GNSOtc, OtcUtils, StorageUtils, and TradingCommonUtils. Scope v8.0.1: GNSPriceAggregator, LiquidityPoolUtils, and PriceAggregatorUtils.
Findings
0 critical; 1 high; 1 medium; 0 low. H-01 concerns storage-slot collision between PriceAggregatorStorage and OtcStorage. M-01 concerns MIN_GNS_WEI_IN being too small and potentially producing zero staking rewards.
Fix status
Fixes-review commits are published (e0f440b2cdddcdbe9022df6414717700906de45c and a1477f67c6125576cd55670a76e9bfd9889d65f9). Whether the remediated code matches current deployed bytecode is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-06.
Report url
https://github.com/pashov/audits/blob/master/team/md/GainsNetwork-security-review-July.md
Report id
doc:507b778bfff1495c
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

Halborn — Gains Trade Smart Contract Security Audit Report.

Auditor
Halborn
Report date
2022-11-21
Scope
Gains Trade smart contracts; EVM derivatives deployment. Exact contract list and deployed-address mapping are not verifiable from the published index.
Findings
0 high; 1 medium; 2 low; 5 informational; 1 additional issue category reported by the tracker. Findings included risks later addressed or accepted by the team.
Fix status
Some risks addressed; others accepted. Exact per-finding closure status is not verifiable as of 2026-09-05.
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

Gains Network runs an ongoing bug bounty program on Immunefi covering its smart contracts on supported chains (Polygon and Arbitrum explicitly; Base and MegaETH coverage not clearly specified). The bounty page outlines targeted contracts and impact categories but is not a formal audit. There is no public list of discovered Critical/High bugs specific to Gains Network on the Immunefi page; any resolved submissions are generally not fully disclosed.

Coverage of all deployed contracts and bytecode equivalence is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-03.

Auditor
ImmuneFi (bug bounty, not formal auditor)
Report date
2024-01-01
Scope
Bug bounty scope: Gains Network smart contracts on Polygon and Arbitrum (per Immunefi page).
Findings
No public per-issue list; program states focus on Critical and High-impact vulnerabilities but does not enumerate findings.
Fix status
Not publicly disclosed; any fixes from bounty reports are handled privately between protocol and researchers. Overall status Not verifiable as of 2026-09-03.
Evidence (1)

audit

two sources

Gains Network security review (GitHub-hosted PDF/MD report). The report states the in-scope contracts for Scope v9.1 were GNSStaking, GNSDiamondStorage, GNSOtc, OtcUtils, StorageUtils, and TradingCommonUtils; for Scope v8.0.1 they were GNSPriceAggregator, LiquidityPoolUtils, and PriceAggregatorUtils. The report is tied to the audited contract set rather than a chain-specific deployment list, so bytecode-match to the deployed code is not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 from the available data.

Auditor
Pashov Audit Group
Report date
2022-11-24
Scope
GNSStaking, GNSDiamondStorage, GNSOtc, OtcUtils, StorageUtils, TradingCommonUtils (Scope v9.1); GNSPriceAggregator, LiquidityPoolUtils, PriceAggregatorUtils (Scope v8.0.1).
Findings
The surfaced summary does not provide the full issue table, but the published CertiK project page shows 8 audits available, with the last audit delivered on 2022-06-24 and a finding summary of 0 critical, 0 high, 3 medium, and 3 resolved entries for the displayed audit record. Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 for chain-specific deployed-code coverage or for a complete cross-audit issue count from the available source set.
Fix status
Partially resolved per the CertiK summary; the available audit record indicates 3 findings were resolved and 3 remained unresolved in that displayed report. Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 for whether all findings across all Gains Network audits were remediated in deployed code.
Evidence (3)

audit

one source

Pashov Audit Group — gTrade security review.

Auditor
Pashov Audit Group
Report date
2023-12-12
Scope
gTrade-contracts; report tracker identifies 3 findings: one medium and two low. Exact commit/deployed-address match is not verifiable.
Findings
1 medium; 2 low; 0 high/critical.
Fix status
Not verifiable as of 2026-09-05.
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

Pashov Audit Group — GainsNetwork security review, July 2.

Auditor
Pashov Audit Group
Report date
2026-07-02
Scope
gTrade contracts covering trading storage, price aggregation/impact, borrowing fees and position-size/leverage lifecycle utilities.
Findings
1 high-impact/medium-likelihood issue; 4 medium findings; 1 low; 0 critical.
Fix status
A fixes-review commit is published. Whether it covers currently deployed bytecode is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-05.
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

Pashov Audit Group — GainsNetwork security review, July.

Auditor
Pashov Audit Group
Report date
2026-07
Scope
v9.1 and v8.0.1 scopes, including staking, OTC, storage, price aggregation and liquidity-pool utilities.
Findings
1 high; 1 medium; 0 critical; additional lower-severity findings are present in the report.
Fix status
Fix-review commit hashes are published; final deployed-code coverage is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-05.
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

PeckShield performed an audit of Gains Network’s smart contracts with focus on security vulnerabilities, including re-entrancy, arithmetic issues, and access control. The report lists several Medium and Low findings and indicates they were fixed or acknowledged by the team. No Critical issues are reported.

Exact coverage of deployed contracts on Arbitrum, Base, MegaETH, and Polygon and bytecode equivalence are Not verifiable as of 2026-09-03.

Auditor
PeckShield
Report date
2023-08-01
Scope
Core Gains Network smart contracts (gTrade) as listed in PeckShield report.
Findings
Medium and Low severity issues across access control, arithmetic, and edge-case handling; all fixed or acknowledged.
Fix status
All Medium/Low issues fixed or acknowledged per PeckShield report; bytecode match to current deployments Not verifiable as of 2026-09-03.
Evidence (1)

audit

one source

Pessimistic conducted a security review of Gains Network’s gTrade protocol, including core trading, vault, and staking contracts, with emphasis on economic and oracle-related risks. The report identifies several High/Medium issues around liquidation mechanisms, fee accounting, and edge-case handling; the public summary indicates all High findings were fixed and Medium findings either fixed or documented with mitigations. Whether this audit covers all contracts now deployed on Arbitrum, Base, MegaETH, and Polygon, and whether bytecode still matches, is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-03.

Auditor
Pessimistic
Report date
2023-05-01
Scope
gTrade core trading, vault, and staking contracts (chain-agnostic Solidity codebase; exact contracts listed in report).
Findings
High and Medium findings on liquidation, economic invariants, and accounting; High issues fixed, Medium either fixed or mitigated per report summary.
Fix status
High issues fixed; Medium issues fixed or mitigated per Pessimistic’s remediation section; bytecode-match to current deployments Not verifiable as of 2026-09-03.
Evidence (2)

Team & Reputation

founders

two sources

Gains Network (gTrade) is led by an anon but increasingly semi-public team, organized under a Panama foundation, with no visible traditional “office” or operating company structure. ### Founders & Core Team

  • Founder:Seb” – anonymous, smart contract dev and strategy lead; worked alone for the first year of development.
  • Core technical/product team (handles and first names only):
  • Nathan – full‑stack dev, management.
  • Crumbs/Crumb – smart contract/full‑stack dev, project lead.
  • Atlas – product manager, project lead.
  • Dreamersnat – frontend dev.
  • Konrad – frontend dev.
  • Pulkit, Tony – smart contract / frontend devs.
  • Drew, Uri – backend/full‑stack dev, research.
  • Biz dev & marketing/community: Sam, Rick, Lunaman, Ves/Vesnushki, Brian, Joseph, Ross, Kenji, Jim (designer), Alex (research) and others. The official docs list a small core team; external profiles (TokenInsight, Blockworks filing) show ~13–15 named contributors, mostly with active social media but no full legal identities disclosed. ### Public vs. Anonymous, Prior Track Record
  • Multiple sources describe Seb as an anonymous founder; no legal name or prior companies are publicly tied to him or the team.
  • There is no independent evidence of major prior DeFi projects, exits, or hacks associated with the core team; media coverage focuses on gTrade’s growth and product, not founders’ past ventures.
  • No publicly reported founder‑linked hacks of Gains Network itself were found in reviewed materials; security discussions are mostly about protocol mechanics and on‑chain metrics. ### Legal Structure, Onshore/Offshore, Office Reality
  • According to Blockworks’ Token Transparency filing, governance is via Gains Network DAO Foundation, a Panama‑registered private interest foundation that does not issue equity or dividends.
  • This strongly suggests an offshore, foundation‑based structure rather than an onshore operating company with shareholders.
  • The filing states that “identities of key team members are publicly disclosed,” but in practice only pseudonymous handles and first names are shared. This is a partial‑transparency model.
  • No credible evidence of a physical office, registered operating company in major jurisdictions (US/EU), or conventional payroll structure was identified; one review only notes Seb “operating in Europe” without specifics.
  • Not verifiable as of 2026‑09‑04 whether there is a real office or staff presence in any specific country. ### Reality Check
  • Real business vs. web front:
  • Active multi‑person dev, product, and marketing organization with continuous updates, docs, GitHub repos, media appearances, and third‑party research clearly exists around gTrade.
  • However, it operates as a pseudonymous, offshore foundation‑governed DeFi collective, not a traditional regulated financial firm. Overall, Gains Network presents as a serious, technically capable but pseudonymous DeFi protocol with offshore governance; founder and team credibility rests on on‑chain/product performance and external coverage, not on conventional corporate identity or regulation.
Evidence (15)

general reputation

two sources

Gains Network is generally regarded as a credible, technically strong perp DEX with active users and no public history of rug pulls, insolvency events, or major security incidents as of 4 Sep 2026, but it faces standard DeFi risk concerns (smart contract, oracle, leverage/liquidations, regulatory uncertainty). 1. Founders, team, investors

  • Commonly described as a builder-led, relatively anonymous/team‑focused project; core contributors are public via socials but not marketed like VC‑backed “celeb founders”.
  • No evidence of major VC governance scandals or investor fraud allegations was found; backing is typical DeFi ecosystem support (liquidity providers, integrations) rather than headline VC branding. 2. Audits & security reputation
  • Protocol contracts have been audited multiple times (e.g., by firms such as CertiK and others), which is repeatedly cited by analytics and review platforms.
  • No widely reported critical exploit or protocol‑level loss events appear in major crypto news, exploit trackers, or audit firm incident pages as of this date.
  • Bug bounty and security‑focused community discussions emphasize ongoing monitoring and incremental upgrades, but detailed bounty stats are Not verifiable as of 4 Sep 2026. 3. Sentiment & criticisms
  • Community and media sentiment on Gains Network is largely positive, focusing on capital efficiency, deep synthetic leverage, and competitive fees on Polygon/Arbitrum/Base.
  • Common criticisms are risk-based rather than reputational:
  • High leverage and synthetic exposure raise liquidation and counterparty risk concerns typical of perp DEXs.
  • Oracle and off-chain price feed dependence is a key technical risk vector noted by independent analysts.
  • Some users flag complex tokenomics and emissions as hard to model, especially long‑term sustainability of rewards. 4. Fraud, rug, insolvency, sanctions, legal issues
  • No credible reports of fraud, rug pull, or deliberate user fund misappropriation associated with Gains Network were found in major crypto media, regulator databases, or sanctions lists.
  • Gains Network does not appear on major sanctions or terror‑finance lists (e.g., OFAC-related curated trackers).
  • No publicly documented court actions or regulatory enforcement specifically targeting Gains Network were identified; instead, it is indirectly exposed to broad DeFi/perps regulatory scrutiny (derivatives, KYC/AML, retail leverage). 5. Unresolved concerns (institutional lens)
  • Key open issues: oracle/design risk, leverage/liquidation mechanics, cross‑chain operational risk across Polygon/Arbitrum/Base/MegaETH, and evolving derivatives regulation in US/EU/UK.
  • Several detailed, on-chain metrics (e.g., exact TVL breakdown per chain, historical liquidation losses) are Not verifiable as of 4 Sep 2026 without Dune or direct explorer-based reconstruction.
Evidence (6)

Economy

TVL: $10.4M

model

one source

Economic model: Gains Network is primarily gTrade, an oracle-priced synthetic perpetual/forex/commodity/stock venue. gToken vaults are the trading counterparty: trader losses accrue to the relevant vault; trader profits and some risk-management costs are paid by it. This is directional trader-PnL/short-volatility exposure, not market-neutral. Leverage is synthetic rather than borrowed; no evidence of lending loops, restaking, or external yield exposure.

Protocol documentation advertises leverage up to 150x crypto, 1,000x forex and 250x commodities—an unverified marketing claim. Assets/products: Current vault documentation lists gUSDC, gDAI, gETH, gAPE, gGNS and gBTCUSD. Trade-collateral documentation specifically confirms USDC, DAI, WETH and APE; exact active collateral mapping for every vault is Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026. Yield is primarily trading fees, spreads, borrowing fees and net trader losses, offset by trader profits.

This is organic protocol activity, not a lending rate; the organic percentage is not quantifiable from available data. Liquidity mechanics: ERC-4626-style shares. Withdrawals require a request and normally settle after 1–3 epochs depending on collateralization; missing the window requires a new request. Shares continue accruing value while pending.

Locking can provide a discount, but exact current lock terms, deposit limits, fees, gates and product-level TVL are Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026. TVL/revenue: Latest DeFiLlama snapshot: approximately $9.90m TVL: Arbitrum $7.83m/79.1%, Base $1.07m/10.8%, Polygon $0.822m/8.3%, ApeChain $0.105m/1.1%, MegaETH $0.075m/0.8%. 30-day TVL trend: approximately -11.5%. 30-day fees were about $400k and revenue about $321k; annualized fees/revenue were about $8.25m/$6.24m.

Average tracked supply APY was 4.34%; current UI examples showed gUSDC 12.87%, gETH 3.66%, gDAI 0%, and gGNS 0.11%. APY history/volatility and sustainability are Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026 from the available sources. Contradiction: User supplied four chains, but DeFiLlama currently reports five, including ApeChain. Dune-vs-DeFiLlama TVL comparison: Not verifiable as of September 6, 2026. Fields: organic_yield_pct = null; leverage_ratio = null

Evidence (5)

reserves

two sources

As of 2026-09-06: Not verifiable as of 2026-09-06. Dune/on-chain verification was unavailable in this run, so treasury addresses, balances by chain, custody, signer control, and liabilities cannot be independently confirmed. No Dune query ID or execution ID exists for this check. External estimate (analytics, not raw on-chain proof): DeFiLlama currently reports a tracked treasury of $216,176.64: $5,280.62 majors, $27,281.78 stablecoins, $183,612.70 own tokens, and $1.54 other assets. Because ~85% is GNS, this should not be treated as liquid reserves without market-impact analysis. CONTRADICTION / data quality: Prior records cited materially different DeFiLlama snapshots—approximately $294,662 and $478,407—showing that the analytics estimate is time-sensitive and/or methodology-dependent.

The latest page value is the current external estimate, but the discrepancy remains unresolved. Addresses and control: A third-party GitHub assessment reports treasury/governance multisig 0xc07EEd650aB255190CA9766162CfB47cFDf72f3a as a 4-of-7 Safe, but this was not independently verified through Dune or an explorer in this run. Treat as unverified secondary evidence. Reserve policy / custody: Protocol documentation describes gToken vault collateral and a mechanism that can mint GNS to recapitalize undercollateralized vaults, capped at 0.05% of supply per 24 hours; this is a risk-control/recapitalization mechanism, not evidence of a segregated treasury reserve. A 2025 transparency report states assets are on-chain and publicly labeled, but also says formal quarterly financial reports were not then published.

A May 2026 governance proposal proposed an on-chain multisig and 24–48-hour timelock for a new growth treasury; implementation was not verified. Attestations: No independent reserve attestation proving asset ownership, valuation, or coverage of liabilities was found. Liabilities are not disclosed in a verifiable balance-sheet format.

Evidence (6)

tokenomics

two sources

Gains Network does have a native token: GNS. Because Dune MCP is unavailable, no on-chain figures can be verified; any missing or conflicting metric is reported as: > Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. --- 1. Native token & contracts (multi-chain) Public sources agree GNS is the protocol token, originally on Polygon, later on Arbitrum and Base.

MegaETH exposure is mentioned only in marketing/roadmaps and is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. Typical contract references (must be independently confirmed in your internal infra; they are *not* on-chain verified here):

  • Polygon GNS: widely cited address starting with 0xE54….
  • Arbitrum GNS: commonly referenced 0xD3f….
  • Base GNS: bridged/wrapped forms via major DEXs. Because I cannot run explorers directly, exact addresses, chain deployments, and any clones remain Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. --- 2. Supply, market cap, FDV Most analytics platforms (CoinGecko, CoinMarketCap, DeFiLlama) show:
  • Max / total supply: a fixed-cap model (no ongoing minting).
  • Circulating supply, market cap, FDV: values differ slightly by source and are *aggregator data*, not on-chain. Without on-chain or explorer checks, all numeric figures are Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. --- 3. Utility, revenue & burns From docs and independent writeups:
  • Utility: GNS is used for staking and is central to protocol incentive alignment (staking rewards paid from protocol fees / vault performance).
  • Buybacks / burns: Gains Network is described as using trading fees to buy back GNS and/or GLP-style vault shares and to burn GNS, creating a “value accrual” loop.
  • Governance: GNS has at least *informal* governance significance (community voting, signaling); there is no clear evidence of a fully on-chain DAO with binding GNS voting on all upgrades. These are unverified marketing claims as of 2026-09-04 unless confirmed by formal governance contracts. --- 4. Emissions, unlocks, allocations Tokenomics articles and docs describe:
  • No ongoing inflation (fixed supply after initial mint).
  • Allocations to team, early investors, liquidity, community incentives and staking.
  • Vesting / unlock schedules for team and investors. However:
  • Actual unlock events, cliffs, and linear vesting transfers are Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04.
  • Top-holder concentration, insider wallets, treasury addresses and balances are Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. --- 5. Control functions & liquidity Risk-relevant aspects such as:
  • Existence of mint / burn / blacklist / fee-switch / upgrade functions.
  • Who controls them (EOA, multisig, timelock).
  • DEX liquidity depth (GNS pairs on Polygon, Arbitrum, Base; share on major DEXs). all require contract and DEX-level inspection, which is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. Overall, for institutional risk work you should treat all numbers and mechanics above as *hypotheses* and re-derive them from your own explorer + on-chain analytics until Dune or equivalent tooling is available.
Evidence (3)

Stress scenarios

stress scenario - bitcoin price falls below $10000

two sources

A Bitcoin move below $10,000 would be a severe market-wide stress event for Gains Network, but the protocol’s exact chain-by-chain loss, liquidations, and bad-debt exposure are Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 because on-chain verification is unavailable in this run. Based on the supplied market sources, the main transmission channel would be a sharp decline in collateral value, accelerated liquidations, and broader crypto risk-off deleveraging if BTC breaks that level. For Gains Network specifically, the practical risks to assess are:

  • Lower collateral quality if users post BTC or BTC-linked assets as margin, which would reduce the buffer against price moves.
  • Higher liquidation frequency across leveraged positions if BTC weakness spills into correlated crypto markets and vol spikes.
  • Oracle and execution stress during fast markets, including slippage and delayed liquidations.
  • Bad-debt risk if positions cannot be liquidated quickly enough in a gap move. Because Dune on-chain checks are unavailable here, I cannot verify whether Arbitrum, Base, MegaETH, or Polygon currently carry material protocol exposure, nor can I quantify each chain’s share of TVL or open interest. That means the chain-by-chain exposure split is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. What can be said from the external market evidence is that analysts and market commentary treat $10,000 BTC as an extreme downside scenario, typically linked to forced deleveraging, liquidity shocks, and crisis-of-confidence dynamics rather than a base case. For a leveraged perps protocol like Gains Network, that is the relevant stress pattern to map into liquidation cascades and collateral shortfalls.
Evidence (6)

stress scenario - largest collateral depegs 20%,

unverified

A 20% depeg in the largest collateral is most likely to matter only on the chains that actually accept that asset as collateral. Gains Network states collateral options vary by chain: Arbitrum and Polygon support USDC, DAI, and WETH; Base supports USDC and BtcUSD; MegaETH supports USDm. If the largest collateral on a given chain depegs 20%, the immediate effect is a 20% haircut on that collateral’s value in the vault, which can reduce vault collateralization and force tighter withdrawal conditions or protection actions; Gains’ documentation says withdrawals depend on collateralization ratio, with longer withdrawal delays at lower ratios.

Evidence (3)

stress scenario - top counterparty insolvent — each with expected loss path, who absorbs it, compensation, and the impact path through the smart contracts;

two sources

For Gains Network (GNS perpetuals), the top counterparty going insolvent generally maps to trader liquidations and insurance/stability mechanisms absorbing loss rather than a CeFi-style default. On-chain verification: Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. ### 1. Core structure (high level)

  • gTrade uses synthetic perps with prices from Chainlink oracles and a liquidity pool (GLP-like vault) plus GNS token economics on Polygon/Arbitrum/Base/MegaETH.
  • Positions are overcollateralized; liquidations are triggered by oracle prices passing thresholds; LPs act as “house” liquidity, and GNS stakers / treasury help absorb volatility risk. ### 2. Stress scenario: largest trader/counterparty insolvent Assume: top long or short cannot post more margin or repay deficit once underwater. Loss path (all chains, mechanism similar):
  • Adverse price move pushes position below maintenance margin.
  • Liquidation bot / keeper calls liquidation function; collateral is seized; position is forcibly closed at oracle price.
  • If collateral < position loss due to oracle gaps/extreme moves:
  • Deficit is borne first by protocol LP/vault (liquidity providers) because the vault is effectively the counterparty.
  • If vault loss exceeds some thresholds, protocol may use fees / insurance / treasury / GNS incentives to recapitalize over time (design details differ per chain; not fully specified off-site). Who absorbs it?
  • Primary: LPs on the affected chain (Arbitrum/Polygon/Base/MegaETH) via reduced vault value and hence lower effective TVL.
  • Secondary: GNS holders/stakers through:
  • Lower future fee flows.
  • Potential dilution or reduced buyback/burn if treasury must recapitalize (where implemented). Compensation:
  • Insolvent trader does not get compensated; they lose posted collateral.
  • LPs usually have no ex-post compensation; their risk/return is embedded in fee and reward structure.
  • Only if an explicit insurance fund exists and is funded (not verifiable as of 2026-09-04) would LPs be partially buffered. ### 3. Smart-contract impact path
  • Liquidation and PnL settlement execute within the perps engine contracts; vault balance is updated; trader margin account goes to zero or near-zero.
  • Extreme deficit events reduce vault reserves on that chain, potentially tightening max leverage/position caps and changing risk parameters via governance.
  • Cross-chain contagion is mostly sentiment/governance-driven, not automatic: each chain’s vault is isolated, but GNS token economics span chains via bridges, so token price and staking returns can transmit stress between Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, MegaETH. Sources: independent documentation and analytics for Gains Network / gTrade mechanics, not on-chain verified.
Evidence (2)

stress scenario - committed fraud by the DAO or owners

two sources

For Gains Network, I found no verifiable evidence in the provided sources that the DAO or owners have committed fraud. The available material instead suggests a governance model that is at least partly off-chain and team-executed, which creates centralized-control risk but is not itself proof of fraud. The strongest relevant source says Gains Network uses Snapshot off-chain governance and that proposals are advisory only, with execution depending on the team.

That means a stress scenario involving fraudulent behavior by insiders is plausible as a governance-risk scenario, but whether it has occurred is Not verifiable as of 2026-09-04. I also found a security review noting contract design and storage-layout concerns, but it does not allege fraud by the DAO or owners. The other results are generic DAO-investigation or fraud-awareness materials, or unrelated AI/security incidents, and do not establish misconduct by Gains Network.

So, on the specific question of committed fraud by the DAO or owners, the evidence base here supports only this cautious conclusion: not verified. The main risk signal is centralized execution power, not proven fraud.

Evidence (3)

stress scenario - primary yield source negative 30d,

two sources

For Gains Network, a stress scenario where the primary yield source is negative over the trailing 30 days is not verifiable as of 2026-09-04 from the provided web results. The results include general stress-testing references and Gains Network trading docs, but they do not provide chain-specific on-chain yield data for Arbitrum, Base, MegaETH, or Polygon, so the requested negative-30d yield condition cannot be confirmed. What can be said from the evidence is limited to methodology: a stress test is used to assess resilience under adverse market conditions, and the Fed’s severe scenarios exemplify how stress assumptions are framed in regulated finance.

However, none of the retrieved sources identify Gains Network’s current primary yield source, its 30-day performance, or any chain-by-chain exposure split, so any such claim would be an unsupported inference. If you want, I can next help turn this into a protocol-risk memo template for Gains Network with explicit placeholders for the missing on-chain checks.

Evidence (4)

Governance & Legal

governance

one source

Assessment as of September 13, 2026: Governance is partly community-run but not fully decentralized. The documented process is forum discussion → Snapshot vote, with 10% quorum and majority voting; implementation is assigned to the team and a multisig group. Scope is currently GNS/tokenomics, not all product, frontend, treasury, or contract decisions.

Eligible proposers are limited to the team and community representatives. DAO control is therefore materially influential but partly symbolic/permissioned; it does not satisfy the strict test for token-holder control over parameters and upgrades. Contract control is role-based and team/multisig-mediated.

Official deployment documentation lists 14-day GNSTimelockOwner and 3-day GNSTimelockManager contracts on Arbitrum and Base; gToken vault documentation says fund-impacting owner actions use a 14-day timelock, while admin actions can have no delay. The v10 changelog documents a GOV_EMERGENCY_TIMELOCK with a 10-hour delay for emergency fixes. This is a bypass of the normal 14-day path, although not necessarily a no-delay bypass.

The frontend/site operator is Ingenium Labs Foundation, a private-interest foundation formed under Panamanian law. The Terms of Service prohibit U.S. persons and provide Panama governing law; no registration number or directors were identified. These are company/foundation-controlled frontend and legal interfaces, not DAO-controlled infrastructure.

Multisig signer identities, threshold, independence, and top GNS holders/voting concentration: Not verifiable as of September 13, 2026. Dune MCP was unavailable, so no on-chain holder, voting, Safe-owner, module, or execution verification was performed. A secondary GitHub report claims a 4/7 treasury Safe, but this is not treated as on-chain verified.

Risk conclusion: governance is permissioned off-chain governance with team/multisig execution; contract upgrades and some fund-impacting actions remain administratively controlled. The 14-day timelock is a meaningful mitigation, but the emergency 10-hour path and zero-delay admin role reduce its effectiveness. Funds could potentially be affected without a binding DAO vote; therefore admin_can_drain is marked true under the requested definition.

Timelock
Yes
Timelock delay hours
336
Admin can drain
Yes
Emergency bypass
Yes
Dao governance
No
Evidence (7)

legal & regulatory

one source

Assessment (as of September 4, 2026): The stated site operator is Ingenium Labs Foundation, described in the Terms as a Panamanian foundation of private interests; Panama law governs and disputes are subject to confidential arbitration seated in Panama. This is a legal wrapper for the website, not proof that all developers, governors, relayers, front-end operators, or smart-contract activity are legally insulated. ToS / restrictions: U.S. persons and users located in the United States or its territories are expressly prohibited, including VPN circumvention. Users must be at least 18, comply with applicable law, not be sanctioned, and accept broad liability exclusions, unilateral access termination, class-action waiver, and arbitration.

The Terms also prohibit unlawful or manipulative trading and reserve the right to collect IP/address information for geolocation and sanctions screening. KYC/AML: No KYC or AML program is stated in the reviewed Terms; “KYC” and “AML” do not appear there. The product documentation describes wallet-based, non-custodial access with no signup, while the Terms permit IP and blockchain-address monitoring. A formal AML/KYC control framework is Not verifiable as of September 4, 2026. Classification / regulatory status: The Terms expressly state that neither the site operator nor the site is licensed, registered, or supervised as a broker, dealer, adviser, money-services business, crypto-asset service provider, or other intermediary.

gTrade nevertheless offers synthetic leveraged exposure to crypto, forex, commodities and other assets; legal characterization could therefore implicate derivatives, securities, commodities, or money-transmission regimes depending on jurisdiction. No definitive classification was located. Warnings / enforcement: Connecticut’s Attorney General issued a September 3, 2026 consumer alert naming Gains Network among unregulated offshore DeFi exchanges and warning of high leverage, limited recourse, anonymous wallet access, and synthetic assets. This is a public warning, not a stated enforcement order against Gains Network.

Court cases involving the protocol/entity: Not verifiable as of September 4, 2026. Sanctions status of the entity: Not verifiable as of September 4, 2026. Data protection / actual risk: The Terms say personally identifiable information may be collected and temporarily stored, with no confidentiality obligation except where legally required. No robust standalone privacy or GDPR framework was verified.

The Panama structure and decentralization claims do not remove jurisdictional, derivatives, consumer-protection, AML, or sanctions risk where users, operators, or affected markets are located.

Active enforcement
No
Entity
Ingenium Labs Foundation
Jurisdiction
Panama
Evidence (3)

legal registries

two sources

No exact GLEIF LEI record for 'Ingenium Labs Foundation', 'Gains Network'. OFAC SDN screening of 'Ingenium Labs Foundation', 'Gains Network': no match. SEC litigation and administrative release feeds: no mention.

Screened names
  • Ingenium Labs Foundation
  • Gains Network
Sanctioned
No
Evidence (4)

Stability

stability

two sources

Gains Network does not appear to issue its own stablecoin. The protocol uses DAI as collateral and gDAI is a vault receipt token representing deposited DAI, not a protocol-issued stablecoin. No verifiable protocol-issued stablecoin depeg event was found, so depeg_count, last_depeg_date, and max_depeg_pct are not verifiable as of 2026-09-06.

Own stablecoin
No
Stablecoin ids
  • DAI
  • gDAI
Evidence (4)

Risks & Strengths

risks

two sources

As of September 5, 2026, Gains Network’s principal risks arise from its leveraged synthetic-trading architecture: vaults act as the counterparty, while oracle execution, smart contracts, and GNS-based recapitalization protect solvency. Audits, Chainlink-based pricing, exposure controls, and timelocks reduce—but do not eliminate—tail risk; on-chain exposure by chain is Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026 because Dune was unavailable.

RiskImpactSeverityProbabilityMitigation in placeResidual risk
Smart-contract and upgrade failureA defect in diamond facets, vault accounting, token contracts, or an upgrade could freeze trading, misprice positions, or directly drain collateral. Multiple audits reduce but cannot rule out implementation and integration bugs.HighMediumReported mitigations include repeated external audits, public upgrade announcements, and timelocks.High-loss tail risk remains, especially after major releases or contract migrations.
Oracle and liquidation failureTrades depend on Chainlink DON responses, callback or signed-price execution, filtering, and correct mark/index usage. Stale, delayed, misconfigured, or unavailable prices could cause erroneous execution, liquidations, or vault losses.HighMediumMedian/outlier filtering, Chainlink feeds, execution safeguards, and separate mark/index pricing are documented.Medium-High; oracle availability, configuration, and integration risk remain material during volatile markets.
Vault insolvency and liquidity stressgToken vaults are the direct counterparty and pay profitable traders. Extreme one-sided markets, correlated wins, or delayed liquidation can exhaust buffers and impair withdrawals or lender returns.HighMediumOvercollateralization buffers, exposure/skew limits, dynamic spreads, and capped GNS recapitalization are documented.High; recapitalization can dilute GNS holders and may not restore confidence or liquidity quickly.
Governance and GNS dilutionParameter, oracle, market-listing, upgrade, and token-policy changes can alter risk distribution. GNS minting for undercollateralized vaults can dilute holders, while concentrated governance can accelerate adverse changes.HighMediumGovernance proposals, public discussion, and timelocked upgrades are reported controls.Medium-High; the effectiveness, signer concentration, and real-time enforceability of controls are Not verifiable as of September 5, 2026.
Multi-chain and stablecoin dependencyOperating across Arbitrum, Base, MegaETH, and Polygon adds chain-specific outage, sequencer, deployment, liquidity, and monitoring risk. DAI/other collateral dependencies introduce depeg and settlement risk.MediumMediumSeparate deployments and collateral-specific vaults limit some contagion; users remain responsible for chain and collateral selection.Medium-High; cross-chain fragmentation and collateral liquidity can worsen losses during stress.
Evidence (6)

strengths

two sources

Gains Network’s top strengths are its capital-efficient synthetic trading model, which the protocol says makes gTrade more efficient than traditional leverage platforms and supports low fees; its broad asset coverage, with hundreds of markets across crypto, forex, stocks, indices, and commodities; its very high leverage offering, including up to 150x on crypto and 1000x on forex in some descriptions; its on-chain transparency and self-custody, since users trade from their wallet and orders are transparent on-chain; and its multi-chain deployment, with the project described across Polygon and Arbitrum, which broadens accessibility and distribution. A few additional strengths commonly emphasized by independent sources are low trading costs, single-sided staking / fee capture for GNS holders, and hybrid oracle pricing that combines major data sources to help with execution and liquidation protection. Note that leverage figures vary by source and product version, with some pages citing up to 500x for certain markets while others cite lower or higher caps by asset class.

Evidence (6)

Methodology & Limitations

  • On-chain metrics: not verifiable — Dune phase 2 is not enabled.
  • 0 of 25 fact categories not yet collected.
  • Fact verifiability: 17 two independent sources, 20 one source, 3 unverified.
  • Oldest fact verification date: 2026-08-29.